Nutrition in Clinical Practice by
In nearly every level of treatment and counseling, care providers must take into account the effects of their patients,, diets. Nutrition in Clinical Practice is written to guide health professionals in providing well-informed, compassionate, and effective dietary and weight-management counseling. This fully updated 3rd edition is edited by a leading authority in nutrition and preventive medicine. Practical and evidence-based, chapters address the effects of diet on health and a comprehensive array of illnesses, making it a vital and timely addition to any caregiver,,s library. Features: NEW data from hundreds of recent studies NEW section: Contemporary Topics in Nutrition Easy-reference format includes short chapters, links to current online articles Contributors representing diverse expertise and practical experience with medical education, nutrition in clinical practice, and preventive medicine Enhanced coverage of controversial topics, such as, the effects of sugar; health effects of obesity and the obesity paradox,,; health effects of gluten and grains; nutritional therapy Appendices includes ancillary materials such as clinically relevant formulas, nutrition data tables, and patient specific meal planners, all fully updated Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Understanding Normal and Clinical Nutrition by
UNDERSTANDING NORMAL AND CLINICAL NUTRITION, Ninth Edition, provides the most current and comprehensive coverage of the fundamentals of nutrition and nutrition therapy for an introductory course. The early chapters focus on "normal" nutrition, including digestion and metabolism, vitamins and minerals, and life cycle nutrition. The later chapters cover "clinical" nutrition--the pathophysiology and nutrition therapy for a wide range of medical conditions. The text integrates practical information and valuable resources to help students apply nutrition knowledge and skills to their daily lives and the clinical setting. Features, such as case studies, "How To" boxes with real-world examples, and study cards, help students apply the material and build their conceptual understanding. Regardless of the students' background, the consistent level, approachable narrative, and careful explanations in UNDERSTANDING NORMAL AND CLINICAL NUTRITION will engage students and enable them to be actively involved in the field of nutrition.
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
NUTRITION & DIET THERAPY11E is an updated introduction to the essentials of nutrition concepts, good health and client care that will provide you with a solid foundation in nutrition. This book addresses misconceptions presented in the media about the link between good nutrition and good health and will enable you to more effectively help your clients improve their nutrition and overall health. NUTRITION & DIET THERAPY 11E is organized around three simple concepts. Section One covers the fundamentals of nutrition, Section Two explains how to maintain good health through nutrition and Section Three addresses the nutrition therapy concepts nurses need to know.
To search for books, journals, and audiovisual materials held by the VCU Libraries, use the VCU Libraries Search. The search allows you to search by title, author, keyword, ISSN, ISBN, and subject. To determine the appropriate subject heading for a topic, consult the lists of Medical Subject Headings or Library of Congress Subject Headings in the libraries. Possible medical subject headings include: adolescent nutrition, child nutrition, diet, diet therapy, dietary supplements, eating disorders, food, food habits, nutrition disorders, and nutritional requirements.
Call number ranges (for browsing the Libraries stacks)
| QP 141-185 | Nutrition (physiology) |
| RA 784 | Personal health & nutrition |
| RC 620-627 | Nutritional Diseases |
| RM 214-258 | Diet Therapy |
| TX 341-641 | Food & Food Supply |
To search for materials from other libraries, use the Worldcat database on FirstSearch VCU.
Selected suggested search terms when searching the above VCU Libraries Search for print, electronic books, and other resources.
Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging by
This is the new and fully revised third edition of the well-received text that is the benchmark book in the field of nutrition and aging. The editors (specialists in geriatric nutrition, medical sociology, and clinical nutrition, respectively) and contributors (a panel of recognized academic nutritionists, geriatricians, clinicians, and other scientists) have added a number of new chapters and have thoroughly updated the widely acclaimed second edition. This third edition provides fresh perspectives and the latest scientific and clinical developments on the interaction of nutrition with age-associated disease and provides practical, evidence-based options to enhance this at-risk population's potential for optimal health and disease prevention. Chapters on a wide range of topics, such as the role of nutrition in physical and cognitive function, and coverage of an array of clinical conditions (obesity, diabetes, heart failure, cancer, kidney disease, osteoporosis), compliment chapters on food insecurity, anti-aging and nutritional supplements, making this third edition uniquely different from previous editions. Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging, Third Edition, is a practical and comprehensive resource and an invaluable guide to nutritionists, physicians, nurses, social workers and others who provide health care for the ever-increasing aging population.
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics by
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics is the must have practical resource for dietitians, nutritionists and students working with both well settled but also recently migrated ethnic groups. Written by a team of authors drawn from the British Dietetic Association's Specialist Multicultural Nutrition Group the book provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.
Manual of Nutritional Therapeutics by
Optimize your patients,, nutrition! Coauthored by three physicians and a dietitian, this quick-reference manual provides practical, state-of-the-art, evidence-based nutrition recommendations for healthy adults, hospitalized patients, and people with a full range of health conditions. It,,s an ideal source to help you meet the nutrition needs of every patient. #65533; Effectively counsel healthy patients with nutrition recommendations for both young and older adults, and provide specific guidance for patients who are pregnant or lactating. #65533; Find information on individual nutrients (e.g. vitamin D, iron), contained in a dedicated section covering nutrient components. #65533; Get detailed guidance with separate chapters on Protein and Calories, Vitamins, Minerals, and Dietary Supplements. #65533; Access advice specific for metabolic disorders (diabetes, dyslipidemia, and renal disease), for obesity, and for chronic wasting diseases (cancer, AIDS). #65533; Make informed decisions on enteral and parenteral nutritional therapy. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: #65533; Complete content with enhanced navigation #65533; A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web #65533; Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation #65533; Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text #65533; Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues #65533; Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
The Principles and Practice of Nutritional Support by
This book provides the reader with an understanding of human nutritional and metabolic physiology and how it goes wrong in illness. Divided into three major sections, the volume instructs the reader on how and when to use nutritional support, and includes a summary of the published outcome studies on the application of nutritional support to the management of common illnesses. In this way, the book supplies the reader with all the known information on how to make the best judgment of when, what and how to feed sick patients. Authored by a renowned expert in the field, The Principles and Practice of Nutritional Support is a valuable resource for gastroenterologists, surgeons, critical care physicians, endocrinologists, and all those involved with patient-care, both in hospital, in rehabilitation, or at home.
The Complete Guide to Nutrition in Primary Care by
The Complete Guide to Nutrition in Primary Care Edited by Darwin Deen, MD, MS Lisa Hark, PhD, RD Clinicians and patients agree that primary care office visits should include routine nutrition assessment and counseling. But how do you fit it into an already crowded consultation? And what is the most up-to-date advice? With The Complete Guide to Nutrition in Primary Care, Drs. Deen and Hark provide the necessary tools. This comprehensive overview of nutrition answers your questions on: Nutrition as Preventive Medicine Nutrition through the Lifecycle Improving Health by Changing Diet and Lifestyle Behaviors Vitamins, Minerals, Dietary Supplements, and the Alternative Successful Changes to the Environment This timely paperback contains everything the primary care clinician needs to counsel patients on diet and lifestyle issues. Keep it close at hand for the frequent consultation it is sure to receive. Dr. Darwin Deen is one of the nation s foremost authorities on nutrition. Currently Professor of Clinical, Family and Social Medicine and Director of Medical Student Education at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York, he has trained a generation of physicians on the connection between nutrition and health. He has played a leading role in revising medical school curricula to incorporate nutrition training. An award-winning teacher and noted author, he serves as Chair of the Task Force on Medical Nutrition Education of the American College of Nutrition and co-chairs the Group on Nutrition of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. His years of experience as a family physician make him perfectly suited to advise clinicians on counseling their patients on diet and lifestyle. Dr. Lisa Hark is a renowned family nutrition expert, with more than 20 years of experience in nutrition counseling and promoting the benefits of healthy eating in children and adults. As Director of the Nutrition Education Program at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in Philadelphia, she developed a model medical school curriculum and textbook, Medical Nutrition and Disease, which has become one of the most widely used texts in nutrition education. She was given the Excellence in Medical/Dental Nutrition Education award from the American Society for Nutrition. Dr. Hark was also the host of the TV show, Honey, We re Killing the Kids, which airs on TLC, and is a widely sought after speaker who communicates nutrition concepts effectively to health professionals, patients, and the media. www.blackwellmedicine.com
Chat