Research Guides: Resources for Medical Students: Diagnostic Reasoning

Find Background Information

Access Medicine - McGraw Hill Textbooks
Includes Harrison's, DeGowin's Diagnostic Exam, and Stern's Symptoms to Diagnosis. Also features physical exam and essential radiology videos, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment questions.

LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection
This ebook collection includes core biomedical science texts in anatomy, microbiology, pathology, physiology, and more. Also includes Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
UpToDate
Licensed by the VCU Health System. Point-of-care collection of evidence-based recommendations for the diagnosis and management of medical conditions. Also includes drug information.
VisualDx
Licensed by the VCU Health System. Clinical decision support system that allows validation of a medical diagnosis based on visual conditions. Contains medical images detailing variation in age, stage, and skin type.

Nature Reviews Disease Primers
Review article primers on diseases plus infographic summaries.

Cochrane Library
Database of Cochrane Collaboration systematic reviews healthcare evidence. Also includes databases of clinical trials, other systematic reviews, and review methodology.
Google Scholar
Open web resource that allows users to search for journal articles, citations, theses, preprints, and book availability on the web.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.