Research Guides: Resources for Medical Students: Patient, Physician and Society

Databases

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.
Global Health (CABI)
Citations and abstracts from the international literature of public health. Particularly strong emphasis on medical entomology, human nutrition, vector control, and medicinal plants.
APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.

ScienceDirect
Journal articles and books on science, technology, medicine, and social sciences

Health Humanities
The Health Humanities is the study of the intersection of health and humanistic disciplines (such as philosophy, religion, literature) fine arts, as well as social science research that gives insight to the human condition (such as history, anthropology, sociology, and cultural studies.)*
*Obtained from the Health Humanities Consortium and adapted from the National Library of Medicine’s definition for Medical Humanities.
Racism and Health
Resources to promote understanding, support teaching, and inspire research about racism and health.
LGBTQIA+ Health
Information to address health disparities that LGBT individuals face linked to societal stigma, discrimination, and denial of their civil and human rights
Health Statistics
Resources for finding and analyzing health-related data.

Google Site Search

site:.edu finds results from educational institutions, i.e. websites with URLs ending in .edu
site:.org finds results from non-profit organizations, i.e. websites with URLs ending in .org
site:virginia.gov finds results websites from government organizations in Virginia with URLs ending in virginia.gov
site:nytimes.com finds results from the New York Times website

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
CDC is the nation's leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public's health. Good for finding prevalence of many conditions.