Research Guides: Generative Artificial Intelligence: Generative AI Tools at VCU Libraries

Generative AI Tools at VCU Libraries

VCU Libraries Databases with Generative AI Features

Some library databases have added generative AI features onto the search tools. Instead of the generative AI creating its response based only on training data, it uses the content pulled from search results from a database to generate responses that are similar to the search results and connects the AI-generated response to the content in the database that has a similar response. Some of these tools also automatically adapt the search you type into a different set of search terms that the database actually uses.
VCU Libraries currently has the following generative AI available on its tools:

Britannica Online
Access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, news, magazines, journals, web sites, research tools, and multimedia.
JSTOR
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end typically 3 - 6 years prior to the current date).
Oxford English Dictionary
Searchable, browseable full text of the Oxford English Dictionary, containing definitions, etymological analysis, variant spellings, and pronunciation.

Oxford Academic
Searches journals and books from Oxford University Press. After a search is conducted the option for an "AI Discovery Assistant" appears in the top right corner. The assistant provides summaries of the relevant content within each of the first few search results. Note: some of the results it presents are labelled "Get Access" and are not part of VCU Libraries' collections.

Statista
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Our Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets for up to 150 countries.

More Generative AI Tools, Especially for Information Seeking

Generative AI Tools from VCU
VCU has licensing arrangements for several generative AI tools for text and image generation that are listed on this page.
Generative AI Product Tracker (from Ithaka SR)
The document is a long table of generative AI tools on the market, with descriptions, limitations, and pricing information. The link jumps to the "Discovery Tools" section of the document, which contains a list of tools specifically for academic research, including locating sources, getting summaries, and finding connections among publications.

Generative Artificial Intelligence

VCU Resources

Cabell Library and Health Sciences Library

Generative AI Tools at VCU Libraries

VCU Libraries Databases with Generative AI Features

More Generative AI Tools, Especially for Information Seeking