Citations, abstracts, and selected full text for articles from international periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and art dissertations. Also indexes art reproductions from indexed periodicals across styles and art movements.
Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art, covering European art since late antiquity, American art since the colonial era, and global art since 1945. Indexes international journals, monographs, exhibition catalogues, and more.
Citations for journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
OpenBibArt is an open-access art historical database unifying the contents of four related datasets. This resource includes articles, books, and exhibition and auction sales catalogues published between 1910 and 2007 on topics in the arts and archeology from late Antiquity to the mid-2000s. The datasets include: the Répertoire d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA); the Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art/International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA); and the Bibliographie d’Histoire de l’Art/Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Criticism and Reviews of Contemporary Art & Design
In addition to art and design databases, try these newspaper and magazine databases
to find reviews or criticism about contemporary art and design.
Also known as NewsBank, provides access to major national and international newspapers, local and regional titles, blogs, and more. Historical and current content, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch archive from 1903 to present.
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.
Use this link to register for a free account. Important source of reporting information, and opinion on politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad. See ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index for issues back to 1851.