Research Guides: MASC 303: Intro to Reporting: Research Articles

Mass Comm Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication studies database with full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
Alternative Press Index
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals, covering from 1991 to the present. Includes the Alternative Press Archive.
AP Images
Millions of historical and contemporary news photographs with thousands more added daily. Includes a collection of graphics containing logos, maps, and timelines, as well as audio clips and news stories.
Mintel
Full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets. Reports analyze market share, segmentation, and trends. Upon first login register with your VCU email address.

Academic Video Online
Thousands of streaming videos covering a wide range of disciplines. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, news, and more distributed by PBS, BBC, CNN, CBS, Sony, A&E, Contemporary Arts Media, Royal Shakespeare, and many others. The full collection is available to the VCU community.
DocuSeek
Docuseek provides exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films, and KimStim, among other production companies and distributors. The full collection is available to the VCU community.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a library of educational video content including excerpts and full-length documentaries, television series, performances, archival films, and newsreel footage. Films on Demand features content from A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and other producers. The full collection is available to the VCU community.