Research Guides: Pharmacy: Drug Information Resources & Databases

Databases

Daily Med
Daily Med provides FDA approved package inserts for over 1100 drugs. Additional resources include links to clinical trials and PubMed articles related to drug entries.
Drugs@FDA
FDA approved drug products. Search by drug name, active ingredient, or application umber.
LactMed
Database containing over 450 drug records with information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, and alternate drugs to consider.
Lexicomp Online
Lists both prescription and OTC drugs by therapeutic categories with concise information concerning pharmacology, dispensing information, ingredients.
Available online on the VCU School of Pharmacy website; see the Resources menu
For the Lexicomp Mobile App (for PharmD students only), submit a KBOX request
Natural Medicines
The largest database of evidence-based information about natural medicines, including information about effectiveness, adverse reactions and interactions, pharmacological actions, dosage, and more.
Orange Book
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations from the FDA

Reaxys
Incorporating Beilstein, Gmelin, and Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry, offers a wealth of experimentally-validated physico-chemical data and preparation methods. Presents a new approach to synthetic chemistry with powerful functionality.

Additional Drug Information Resources (websites):

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research: U.S. FDA site provides links to drug information for health professionals and consumers, including drug approvals, the Orange book and regulatory guidance.

Drug Information Resources: A Guide for Pharmacists: The site provides a categorized listing of resources in order to aid pharmacists in providing drug information. Resources in a wide range of subject areas are provided.

Drugs.com: Provides prescription drug information. Includes pill identifiers, drug interactions, and side effects information.

Expanded Access to Investigational Drugs for Treatment Use: Interactive modules from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) explaining the Food & Drug Administration regulations regarding Expanded Access programs for an individual-patient investigational new drug (IND) application.
Will need to create an ASCO Guest ID.

FDA Substance Registration System: This database provides access to the FDA Unique Ingredient Identifier (UNII) assigned to substances by the FDA Substance Registration System. The UNII is an essential element required for the listing of substances in the FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL).

Cochrane Library
Database of Cochrane Collaboration systematic reviews healthcare evidence. Also includes databases of clinical trials, other systematic reviews, and review methodology.
Embase (via Ovid)
Biomedicine and pharmacology citation database (1974 - present) with an international scope. Recommended for systematic reviews, and for finding drug and medical device information. Updated weekly. Not compatible with Internet Explorer 8, 9, and 10.
Medical Letter, The
Searchable database of articles from The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics from 1988 - present. Includes peer-reviewed evaluations of newly approved prescription drugs and comparative reviews of older drugs.
NatMed Pro (Formerly Natural Medicines)
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed information on complementary and alternative medicine treatments. Includes interactions and adverse effects as well as evaluation of therapies for specific conditions, herbs and supplements, and diet therapies.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
TRIP Database
Clinical search engine designed to find high-quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. Sources include PubMed, the Cochrane Library, and websites focused on clinical information.

Use the tabs above to navigate to recommended research databases.

About Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
The site provides evidence-based information for health professionals and consumers on the therapeutic uses and effects of herbal medicines and dietary supplements.
MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages
Find culturally relevant information in multiple languages and formats about health conditions and wellness topics.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information. The site offers authoritative, up-to-date health information.

2016, Rx Outreach

AccessPharmacy
Access to leading pharmacy textbooks, an extensive multimedia library, care plans, self-assessment tools, case files, a drug and supplement information database, and more.
BIOSIS Citation Index
Citations and indexing for journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in life sciences and biology.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Abstracts of pharmacology research and information. Includes papers presented at ASHP, APhA, and AACP meetings. Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 1
STAT!Ref Electronic Medical Library
Full-text, cross-searchable resource of evidence-based, authoritative healthcare references. Includes ebooks, journals, point-of-care tools, drug guides, niche specialty guides within a variety of disciplines, and more.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
UpToDate
Licensed by the VCU Health System. Point-of-care collection of evidence-based recommendations for the diagnosis and management of medical conditions. Also includes drug information.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.

Biological & Medical Sciences Databases from CSA Internet Database Service
Search multiple databases in CSA Subject Area.
FDA Substance Registration System
This database provides access to the FDA Unique Ingredient Identifier (UNII) assigned to substances by the FDA Substance Registration System. The UNII is an essential element required for the listing of substances in the FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL).

Free Medical Journals.com
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of journals in medicine and life sciences.
VCU Libraries Online Journals
Search to find a specific online magazine or journal.
Virtual Library: Pharmacy Related Journals

VCU Journal Search

Looking for a particular journal? Want to see if the library has a subscription--electronic or print? Use the VCU Journal Search.