PubMed Alternatives

Anne O'Tate provides lists of important words and topics in the articles retrieved by a PubMed search. A search can also be filtered by semantic categories.

BibliMed has simple and advanced levels of searching. You need to sign up (free) if you want to save or use advanced features. Nice subject clouds for choosing terms to add to your search.

eTBLAST is a similarity search that allows you to input an entire paragraph and then finds similar articles. Good for entering a PICO statement. Will also find the top authors and journals in a set of articles.

As well as PubMed Central and PubMed abstracts, this new database includes Patents, Agricola, Chinese Biological Abstracts, and Citeseer

GoPubMed classifies your search results using Gene Ontology and MeSH. You can then narrow your search using these terms. You can also find the top author or look at statistics on county, city, year and journal of publication.

HubMed does basic PubMed searching but adds a couple of interesting features. The "Terms" option links phrases and words in an abstract to Gene Ontology, UniProt or Wikipedia for further searching. And the Rank Relations feature finds more articles similar to a set of articles you already have found.

Literature and Genomics Resource Catalogue allows you to search PubMed and then narrow your search using terms from a MeSH Cloud based on the articles found.

PubReMiner allows you to view lists of words, MeSH terms, substances, authors, journals, years and countries to refine your search strategy before retrieving citations from PubMed.

Slider Interface for MEDLINE/PubMed allows easy access to date, age, methodology filters, human and English limits. 'Full Text' link connects directly to VCU subscriptions when you are on campus.

Search PubMed concurrently with other biological databases.

Search PubMed at the same time you search Web of Science and BIOSIS using the 'All Databases' tab or search only MEDLINE and use the 'Refine Results' list to narrow your search.