Research Guides: Medicine: Find Articles

Summaries of Evidence

UpToDate
Provides reviewed clinical reference material including drug information, dosing, and brief summaries of conditions and management options. Available off campus with personal account registered while on campus. App for iOS and Android devices (register account on campus for access to the app).
ECRI Institute Guidelines Trust
Repository of freely available guidelines updated within the last five years. Requires creation of login.
Stanford Antimicrobial Guidebook
Clinical information on the use of antibiotics, including decision trees, dosing guides, and treatment guidelines. Created by the Stanford Antimicrobial Safety & Sustainability Program. Some recommendations may be specific to clinical practice at Stanford Health Care.

Syntheses of Evidence

Cochrane Library
A collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, reviews conducted by Cochrane, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), reports of RCTs pulled from PubMed, Embase, ClinicalTrails.gov, and the WHO International Clinical Trials Registry.
AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice Center Reports
Searchable collection of evidence reports, comparativeness effectiveness reviews, and technology assessments conducted by Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-Based Practice Centers.

Synopses of Single Studies

ACP Journal Club
A monthly publication that selects, summarizes, and appraises several articles judged to have a high clinical impact. Accessed through the American College of Physicians or EBSCO Publishing.
Evidence-Based Medicine (BMJ)
Critical reviews of current research.

Single Studies

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Google Scholar
Open web resource that allows users to search for journal articles, citations, theses, preprints, and book availability on the web.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry of clinical trials in the U.S. and around the world. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations and contacts for more details.
Embase (via Ovid)
Biomedicine and pharmacology citation database (1974 - present) with an international scope. Recommended for systematic reviews, and for finding drug and medical device information. Updated weekly. Not compatible with Internet Explorer 8, 9, and 10.
CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source of full-text journals and books indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). Also features evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more.
APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.

Background Information

AccessAnesthesiology
Online resource that includes leading clinical textbooks in anesthesiology, procedural videos, clinical guidelines, self-assessment Q&A, and an interactive drug database with search and customizable curriculum functionality.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
AccessEmergencyMedicine
Comprehensive search tool for quick diagnosis and treatment for a broad range of emergency cases. Includes emergency medicine textbooks, procedural videos, self-assessment tools, an integrated drug database, patient handouts, and clerkship resources.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
AccessMedicine
Access to McGraw-Hill medical textbooks including Harrison's Online. Contains multimedia library with case files, safety modules, procedural videos, diagnosis and self-assessment tools, patient handouts, an integrated drug database, and more.

Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
AccessPharmacy
Access to leading pharmacy textbooks, an extensive multimedia library, care plans, self-assessment tools, case files, a drug and supplement information database, and more.
AccessSurgery
Resource for surgical education including textbooks, videos, drug information, and board review questions.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
PsychiatryOnline
Psychiatry portal that features the full-text of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). Subscription includes ebooks in the Premium Books package and guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association.
STAT!Ref Electronic Medical Library
Full-text, cross-searchable resource of evidence-based, authoritative healthcare references. Includes ebooks, journals, point-of-care tools, drug guides, niche specialty guides within a variety of disciplines, and more.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5

Nature Reviews Disease Primers
Consisting of extensive narrative reviews, each Primer provides a global overview of the field and outlines key open research questions. Primers have a modular structure, covering epidemiology; disease mechanisms; diagnosis, screening and prevention; management; and quality of life.

Medicine

Research & Education Librarian

Apps and Websites

Summaries of Evidence

Syntheses of Evidence

Synopses of Single Studies

Single Studies

Background Information