Research Guides: History of Richmond Professional Institute: Bibliography

Bibliography - Includes Works on RPI and the History of the Monroe Park Campus of VCU.

Here is a small selection of Richmond architectural history books that researchers might find useful.

Richmond’s Fan District by Carneal, Drew, St. J.
Call Number: Special Collections and Archives: F234.R56 F258 1996

ISBN: 188956902X

VCU's Monroe Park Campus falls in Richmond's Fan District and this book has information on a number of buildings owned by the University.
Virginia Commonwealth University: A Sesquicentennial History by Dabney, Virginius
Call Number: Multiple Locations in Both Libraries: LD 5651.V85 D33 1987

ISBN: 0813911389
Decorative Arts on VCU’s W. Franklin Street: A Tour for the Society of Architectural Historians, April 21, 2002 by George, Linda
Call Number: Special Collections and Archives: NK2003.5 .G46 2002
The influence of accreditation on the development of the Medical College of Virginia into an institution with university affiliation by Griggs, Walter S.
Call Number: Special Collections and Archives, JBC and HSL: R747.M42 G7 1979a
A History of the Richmond Professional Institute: From its Beginning in 1917 to its Consolidation with the Medical College of Virginia in 1968 to form Virginia Commonwealth University by Hibbs, Henry H.
Call Number: Multiple Locations in Cabell Library: LD5653 .H5
It’s VCU. Episode 1, 2, and 3, Then, Now, 2020 by Nash, Victor M.A.
Call Number: Media and Reserves and Special Collections and Archives: LD 5651.V85 I87 2005

Video discs feature VCU exchange programs with international universities and VCU School of the Arts affiliate in Qatar; VCU building a partnership with the surrounding community; and history of VCU, how it grew from a small college to a large urban university. Includes interviews of students, faculty and staff at VCU.
Virginia Commonwealth University by Ray Bonis, Jodi Koste, and Curtis Lyons
Call Number: In Multiple Locations in Both Libraries: LD 5651.V85 B67 2006

ISBN: 0738542261
Past, Present, and Future, 1917-1987: School of Social Work, Virginia Commonwealth University. by School of Social Work, Virginia Commonwealth University
Call Number: Special Collections and Archives: LD 5651.V85 P37 1987
In Search of a Home: An Historical Analysis of the Major Factors Concerning the Location of Virginia Commonwealth University by Williams, Ann Laurens
Call Number: Cabell Special Collections and Archives: LD5651.V85 W55 1985a

Medical College of Virginia Bibliography

For information about the history of the Medical College of Virginia Campus, click Here.