Research Guides: Drug Information Resources: Databases

Drug Information Databases

Drug Databases (Subscription)
Drug Databases (Freely Available)

The following databases are available through VCU Libraries or School of Pharmacy subscriptions.

AccessPharmacy
AccessPharmacy provides a number of resources; however, it has a specific tab along the top for Drugs. You can search by drug name or browse by letter.
Cochrane Library
A database of systematic reviews on health care topics. Also includes a hand-picked registry of controlled trials.
Drug Facts & Comparisons
Lists both prescription and over-the-counter drugs by therapeutic categories with concise information concerning pharmacology, dispensing information, ingredients, etc. Drug Facts & Comparisons can be accessed through the School of Pharmacy website.
Lexicomp Online
Lists both prescription and OTC drugs by therapeutic categories with concise information concerning pharmacology, dispensing information, ingredients.
Lexicomp Online can be accessed through the School of Pharmacy website.
Merck Index Online
Authoritative information on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Contains over 11,000 monographs.
Natural Medicines
The largest database of evidence-based information about natural medicines, including information about effectiveness, adverse reactions and interactions, pharmacological actions, dosage, and more.
UpToDate
Clinical information tool providing reviewed clinical reference material. Includes pharmaceutical information, patient handouts, graphics. Provided by the VCU Health System.

The following websites contain useful information about drugs, or provide access to freely available databases of drug information. Please note the commercial nature of a few of these sites; otherwise, they are provided by the federal government.

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
U.S. FDA site provides links to drug information for health professionals and consumers, including drug approvals, the Orange book and regulatory guidance.
DailyMed
DailyMed provides FDA approved package inserts for over 1100 drugs. Each drug overview contains additional resources, such as references to clinical trials and PubMed articles and images of the package labeling. DailyMed is also a great resource to direct patients to due to it's easy-to-follow formatting.
Drug Information Resources: A Guide for Pharmacists
The site provides a categorized listing of resources in order to aid pharmacists in providing drug information. Resources in a wide range of subject areas are provided.
Drugs.com
Provides prescription drug information. Includes pill identifiers, drug interactions, and side effects information.
Drugs@FDA
FDA approved drug products. Search by drug name, active ingredient, or application number.
Expanded Access to Investigational Drugs for Treatment Use
Interactive modules from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) explaining the Food & Drug Administration regulations regarding Expanded Access programs for an individual-patient investigational new drug (IND) application.
Will need to create an ASCO Guest ID.
FDA Substance Registration System
This database provides access to the FDA Unique Ingredient Identifier (UNII) assigned to substances by the FDA Substance Registration System. The UNII is an essential element required for the listing of substances in the FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL).
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
Orange Book
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations from the FDA.
RxList Database
A searchable database of clinically-oriented drug information. RxList Database consists of products currently on the US market or close to approval. It may be searched by either brand name or generic name and can be searched simultaneously for potential drug interactions, side effects and indications.
MedlinePlus: Drug Information
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, this easy-to-use site provides information that consumers should be able to understand. It provides information about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. It additionally includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.