Research Guides: LGBTQIA+ Health: Research

Research

October 6, 2016 - National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities announces that sexual and gender minorities are formally designated as a health disparity population for NIH research. Full story.

Call to Action: Include Sexual and Gender Minority Health in Your Research
Sexual and Gender Minority Research Coordinating Committee of NIH
NIH: Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office The Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office (SGMRO) coordinates sexual and gender minority (SGM)–related research and activities by working directly with the NIH Institutes, Centers, and Offices. The Office was officially established in September 2015 within the NIH Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives (DPCPSI).
Healthy People 2030 LGBT Health
Conducting Research on the Health Status of LGBT Populations - chapter of IOM report
Resources for Conducting Research on Transgender Populations

Searching PubMed

PubMed is a great place to start to find literature about Racism and Health. The following Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) are available to help you get started.

Gender-affirming care	Puberty inhibitors
Health services for transgender persons	Sexual and gender minorities
Homosexuality	Transgender persons
Intersex persons

Search Hedges/Filters

A search hedge or filter is a pre-made search strategy that you can use in a specified database to focus your results.

More databases to explore literature on LGBTQIA+ health

GenderWatch
Full-text publications and archives covering the impact and evolution of gender and gender roles across a broad spectrum of subject areas, taking an interdisciplinary approach to family studies, LGBTQIA+ studies, and women's studies.
LGBTQ + Source
Indexing, abstracts, and select full text for international scholarly and popular publications on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues, with historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers.
LGBT Thought and Culture
Key works and documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. Includes the Pat Rocco Collection, the Jeanne Cordova Papers, the Magnus Hirschfeld Collection, and more.
Sex & Sexuality
Research papers, organization records, newsletters, photographs, comics, and other archival materials documenting changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities, and sexual behaviors from the 19th century to the present.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Digitized books, manuscripts, periodicals, ephemera, and other materials for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender from the sixteenth century to the present, covering topics from sexual norms and gender roles to health and activism.