Research Guides: CLED 600: Professional Orientation & Ethical Practice in Counseling: Recommended Sources

1. Start with These Databases

ERIC via ProQuest
Content produced by the U.S. Department of Education, 1966-present. Premier education database addressing all aspects of education, including counseling. (ProQuest)
ERIC via ed.gov
Click on the Thesaurus tab (it will turn green) to browse and/or search for terms to use in your ERIC searches. The Thesaurus will help you discover synonyms.
Education Research Complete
Smaller than ERIC, but a necessary complement to it.
APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
Covers the psychological aspects of education including child development, counseling, human and organizational behavior, motivation, and learning types.
Social Services Abstracts
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979-present. Especially useful for issues encountered in school counseling. Include education* OR school* in your searches. (ProQuest)

CLED 600 - ERIC Tips
Tips for searching ERIC and other ProQuest databases
CLED 600 - ERC Tips
Tips for searching Education Research Complete and other EBSCO databases
CLED 600 - PsycINFO Tips
Tips for searching PsycINFO

ABI/INFORM Complete
Especially good for any topic related to career counseling or career development. (ProQuest)
Business Source Complete
Similar to ABI/INFORM Complete. The two databases complement one another.

Education (Cabell Library 3rd floor)
LB 1027.5 - 1027.8	Student guidance and counseling. Personnel service.
LB 1051 - 1091	Educational psychology.
LC 1081 - 1099	Industry and education. Business and education.
LC 1390 - 5159	Education of special classes of persons (e.g., gender, ethnicity, exceptional (gifted and those with disabilities)

Commerce (Cabell Library 3rd floor)
HF 5381	Vocational guidance. Career development.