Skip to Main Content
Reserve a study room
Giving
Library Account
Ask Us
Chat
Resources for...
Undergraduate Students
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
VCU Libraries
Find & Access
Search collections
Journals and newspapers
Databases
Digital collections
Search for course materials
Theses and dissertations
Archival materials
Getting and using materials
Borrow, renew, request
Interlibrary loan and delivery
Equipment to borrow
Special Collections and Archives
Get help
Ask us
Accessibility
Library account
How-to guides
Lost and found
SEE ALL
Spaces & Technology
Libraries
James Branch Cabell Library
Cabell floor maps
Health Sciences Library
Health Sciences Library floor maps
VCU Medical Center Health and Wellness Library
Hours
Use Spaces
Studios and makerspaces
Reserve a study room
Classrooms and event spaces
Sponsor an event
Technology
The Workshop at Cabell Library
Making and Creating at the Health Sciences Library
Print, scan and copy
Computers and equipment
Equipment to borrow
Get help
Ask Us
Library room guidelines
Technology instruction and guides
Accessibility
How-to guides
Lost and found
SEE ALL
Research & Teaching Support
Research support
Researcher support services
VCU Publishing
Data services
Classes and workshops
Research guides
Consult a specialist
Tools and browser add-ons
Teaching support
Instructional support services
Request library instruction for your class
Open and affordable course content
Put class materials on reserve
Request/book a film for your class
Copyright and teaching
Collections
Collections overview
Suggest a purchase
Trial databases
Sustaining our journal collections
Special Collections and Archives
Digital collections
Scholars Compass
Get help
Ask us
Accessibility
How-to guides
SEE ALL
About Us
News and events
News
Events
Exhibits
Classes and workshops
Organization
Staff
Strategic framework, mission, and values
Diversity statement
Jobs
Support the libraries
Giving
Advisory committees
Join our friends
Get involved
Get help
Ask Us
Guidelines
Accessibility
Information for community visitors
SEE ALL
Today's Hours
VCU Libraries
Research Guides
Data, Design, and Dissemination
Design
Search this Guide
Search
Data, Design, and Dissemination
Learn about tools and techniques for effective visual communication of data.
Home
Data
Design
Design Workshop Recording
Design Tips for Researchers
Color Accessibility
Color Palette Resources
Dissemination
Design Workshop Recording
Design Workshop Slides
Design Tips for Researchers
Design Tips for Scientists
A guide from the University of Texas at Austin.
Ten Simple Rules for Better Figures
An article by Rougier, Droettboom, and Bourne in PLOS Computational Biology (2014).
When Pie Charts Are Okay (Seriously): Guidelines for Using Pie and Donut Charts
7 rules for using pie and donut charts
How to Spot Visualization Lies
A guide to identifying unintentional mistakes and intentional misinformation in data visualizations.
Color Accessibility
Understanding Color Blindness: A Guide to Accessible Design
A Colorblind Person's Guide to Using Color
Choosing Color Palettes for Scientific Figures
Resources for Testing Color
Web AIM Contrast Checker
Coblis Color Blindness Simulator: Colblindr
Color Palette Resources
Finding the Right Color Palettes for Data Visualizations
By Samantha Zhang, a breakdown of considerations about color, data, and storytelling.
Color Palette Generators
Adobe Color
Canva Color Palette Generator
Paletton
Finding Hex Codes for Colors
Google Color Picker
Search for "Google color picker" to access tool
Eye Dropper Chrome Extension
<<
Previous:
Data
Next:
Dissemination >>
Chat