Diversity in Design

Explores a diverse selection of objects, spaces and media, ranging from high design to mass-produced and mass-marketed objects, as well as counter-cultural and sub-cultural material. The authors' research highlights the often marginalised role of gender and racial identity in the production and consumption of design, the politics which underpins design practice and the role of designed objects as pathways of nostalgia and cultural memory.

A guidebook to the institutional transformation of design theory and practice by restoring the long-excluded cultures of Indigenous, Black, and People of Color communities.

By the People examines how design is effectively challenging poverty and social inequality across America. The book explores current social, economic and environmental issues in America with a particular focus on marginalized and underserved communities.

Explores how design - whether of products, buildings, landscapes, cities, media, or systems - affects diverse members of society. Investigates how gender, race, class, age, disability, and other factors influence the ways designers think.

Shows how design and disability can inspire each other, and presents a series of interviews with leading designers about a specific disability design project.

From architects and product designers to textile artists and digital innovators, Women Design profiles 27 of the most influential female designers from the twentieth century to the present day, showcasing their finest work and celebrating their enduring influence.

Features more than 200 designers from more than 50 countries, with each designer represented by a key product and short text.

This book spotlights teaching practices, research, stories, and conversations from a Black/African diasporic lens. Excluded from traditional design history and educational canons that heavily favor European modernist influences, the work and experiences of Black designers have been systematically overlooked in the profession for decades.

Examines the intersection of Black identity and practice, probing why the design field has failed to attract Black professionals, how Eurocentric hegemony impacts Black professionals, and how Black designers can create an anti-racist design industry.

The history of fashion through a queer lens, examining high fashion as a site of gay cultural production and exploring the aesthetic sensibilities and unconventional dress of LGBTQ people, especially since the 1950s, to demonstrate the centrality of gay culture to the creation of modern fashion.

From the editor-in-chief of leading queer style magazine dapperQ, an inclusive collection that encourages everyone to be comfortable expressing their own personal style however they choose.

An overview of African American style through the twentieth century, focusing on the last thirty-five years. Includes hats, hair, divas, the importance of attitude, the use of color, '60s style, the influence of Africa and the Caribbean, and the beauty of black skin.

38 Profiles of Afro-American designers and textile artist from 1850 to the present. Featuring Ann Lowe who designed Jackie Kennedy's wedding dress, and Elizabeth Keckley, who designed for Mary Lincoln. Others are profiled demonstrating their struggles & contribution to the world of fashion.

Profiles widely-known early fashion vanguards as well as underrepresented women who revolutionised fashion from the mid-1700s to the present. More than one hundred works - including street fashion, ready-to-wear, traditional, and haute couture - celebrate women designers' concepts of dress and beauty. Through the work of more than fifty individual style makers, The Women Who Revolutionized Fashion illuminates issues of representation, creativity, and distinctiveness, as well as the labor challenges surrounding fashion today.

Focuses on unsung female designers, and ranges from sportswear to sustainable fashion. Explores crossovers between film, theater, and fashion, including couture, tailoring, millinery, costume, and accessory design.

From Elizabeth Keckly's designs as a freewoman for Abraham Lincoln's wife to flamboyant clothing showcased by Patrick Kelly in Paris, Black designers have made major contributions to American fashion. However, many of their achievements have gone unrecognized. This book, inspired by the award-winning exhibition at the Museum at FIT, uncovers hidden histories of Black designers at a time when conversations about representation and racialized experiences in the fashion industry have reached all-time highs.

A history of women cartoonists. Documents the increasing relevance of women throughout the 20th century, and flourishing in the 21st century with both mainstream and alternative cartoonists.

Chronicles the life of this multiply talented, fascinating woman who became a successful commercial artist and cartoonist.

A survey of contemporary design outside the United Kingdom, mainland Europe, North America, and Australasia covers the most popular areas of graphic design including posters, album covers, and packaging.

Bringing together contributors from a wide-range of critical perspectives, Black Comics: Politics of Race and Representation is an analytic history of the diverse contributions of Black artists to the medium of comics.
Also in print: Cabell Library Special Collections and Archives (On-Site Use Only) (PN6725 .B56 2013 )

This exciting new collection reveals superhero comics are only one small component in a wealth of representations of black characters within comic strips, comic books, and graphic novels over the past century.

Contributions from design historians, programmatic texts and a comprehensive collection of biographies, alongside interviews with internationally recognized female designers.

Women of African descent in comics subculture.
Also in print: PN6725 .W48 2016

Focuses on people of African descent who have published significant works in the United States or have worked across various aspects of the comics industry.

The essays in this collection reveal how the superhero genre, in fusing fantasy with realism, provides a visual forum for engaging with issues of disability and intersectional identity (race, ethnicity, class, gender, and sexuality) and helps to imagine different ways of being in the world.

Examines in detail the professional and domestic spaces created by women. Offers new information and new interpretations in the study of gender, material culture and the built environment in the period 1860-1960.
(Also in print: NA1997 .W67 2003)

The city is more than just a sum of its buildings; it is the sum of its communities. Design for Diversity explores the linkage between urban forms and social diversity, and how one impacts the other.

Interior design from an inclusive perspective which acknowledges the contributions of all world cultures, not just western European traditions. Each unit represents a selected country and provides information on the culture, design philosophies, theories, principles and elements and symbolic meaning evident in built forms, colors, patterns, and textiles, as told by contributors native to the country.

A visual survey of architecture designed by women from the early twentieth century to the present day.

Challenging us to write race back into architectural history, contributors confront how racial thinking has intimately shaped some of the key concepts of modern architecture and culture over time, including freedom, revolution, character, national and indigenous style, progress, hybridity, climate, representation, and radicalism. Analyses how architecture has intersected with histories of slavery, colonialism, and inequality.