Research Guides: Fashion Design: Design & Illustration

Fashion Design & Illustration Featured Books

Fashion Thinking: creative approaches to the design process
Call Number: TT507 .D5289 2021
Publication Date: 2020-12-10
Fashion Thinking establishes key approaches to design and encourages the process of discovery. By following each stage of development, the examples shown offer a unique and inspiring insight into the thinking behind a final collection.
The Fundamentals of Fashion Design
Call Number: TT508 .S67 2017
A fully illustrated introduction to the key elements of fashion design, from the initial concept of a fashion idea to realizing it in 3D form. The authors explain the entire fashion design process, including research and design, fabrics and their properties, construction methods and how to form and promote a collection.
Fashion Design Research
Call Number: ebook
The basics of primary and secondary research sources and how and where to gather information.
(Also in print: TT515 .M36 2014 )
The Fashion Resource Book: research for design
Call Number: TT507 .L43 2012
Fashion design is a process of investigating, understanding context, and constantly questioning what you are doing and why. This comprehensive survey presents the work of a wide range of modern and contemporary designers and reveals the innumerable areas of inspiration and research on which they've drawn.
Fashion Drawing : illustration techniques for fashion designers
Call Number: TT509 .B79 2016
A comprehensive, practical guide to fashion drawing featuring step-by-step tutorials show how to create fashion drawings for women, men and children, and adapt them for different markets.
Fashion Drawing
Call Number: TT509 .H67 2018
This book takes you through the different styles, techniques and approaches to drawing in the fashion industry. Includes advice on selecting appropriate materials and media, with examples demonstrating their different uses and applications, the theory and history of fashion drawing, and the range of styles used by contemporary designers, from quick sketches to sophisticated digital drawings.
9 Heads: a guide to drawing fashion
Call Number: Cabell Library Oversize Books - Shelved upright (4th floor) (TT509 .R54 2012 )
A modern guide to fashion drawing for all levels of students. Provides a simple and effective system for learning to create drawings with these qualities.
Fashion Illustration: inspiration and technique
Call Number: TT509 .K56 2011
Guide includes Fashion Flats, Accessories, Page Composition with Impact, Illustrating Men, Illustrating Children, Fabric Rendering Techniques, Exploring Media, Model Drawing, Inspiration, Mood and Design.
Creative fashion illustration : how to develop your own style
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Easy-to-follow exercises to develop essential skills and learn simple and effective tips and tricks, and covers topics such as proportion, movement, line, shape and volume as well as sections on tricky areas such as hands and feet.
Fashion Knitwear Design
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019
Provides advice on the diverse skills needed to take a design from idea to finished product. The entire design process is covered, including research and concept development, fabric, and garment design development, pattern cutting, and garment construction.

Trend Forecasting Resources

Market Trend Forecasting Resources

WGSN (Worth Global Style Network)
Focusing on the areas and intersections of fashion, style, and commerce, WGSN provides a global view on trends in design. Its archive contains millions of images from the runways, the street, retail outlets, and design sketches.
Fashion Snoops
A global trend forecasting agency focused on the industries of fashion, interior design, and wellness. A personal account, using your VCU email, is required to use the CREATE area or save content.

How to Find Ebooks

To find ebooks in VCU Libraries collections:

Go to the homepage of the library website, library.vcu.edu
Type your search into the yellow bar and click Search.
On the right-hand side of your results page, filter by Material Type (Books) and Show Only (Access Online).
You may also want to filter by Publication Date.
View ebooks available to you through VCU Libraries across various platforms.

Resources Beyond VCU Libraries

If you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.

Inter-library Loan (ILL)
Via Interlibrary Loan, you can borrow books, articles, and DVDs that VCU does not own.

WorldCat (via FirstSearch)
Consolidated catalog of items held by OCLC member libraries worldwide. WorldCat FirstSearch is the subscription version of the WorldCat database, with advanced search options and result listing by number of copies available.

RALC
The Richmond Academic Library Consortium is a group of Richmond area libraries which have agreed to extend limited borrowing privileges to students, faculty, and staff of any RALC school.

Cite Your Sources - APA Style

APA Citation Style - Perdue OWL
How to use APA style to cite different types of sources.
APA Citation: Websites - Perdue OWL
Guide to citing many electronic sources, including websites, blogs and YouTube.
APA Style.org
Companion site to the Publication Manual. Select the Learning APA Style link in the green bar to access tutorials and FAQs.
APA Style Blog
The official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition run by experts who work with APA Style every day.
Son of Citation Machine
Easy-to-use web form for generating APA citations.
Citing Images
Tips for citing images in APA style.

Fashion Design

Related Guides

Browsing Fashion

Art Browsery

Subject Guide

Ask Us

Fashion Design & Illustration Featured Books

Trend Forecasting Resources

How to Find Ebooks

Resources Beyond VCU Libraries

Cite Your Sources - APA Style

VCU Libraries Search