Fashion Design

A green design and lifestyle site that provides coverage of environmental news and the latest in sustainable design, including clothing and textiles.

Over 40,000 images from Historic collections in the Detroit Area, including the Henry Ford Costume Collection.

An open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion and dress history. Created by art history faculty and students at FIT.

The collection contains 417 digital images of fashion plates from 1806-1914 from some of the leading fashion journals of the time.

The Fashion Plate Collection consists of hand-colored fashion plates from the French periodical La Gazette du Bon Ton and its American edition, La Gazette du Bon Genre, distributed by Condé Nast.

High quality images of more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.

One of the world’s largest and the most wide-ranging fashion and textile collections. Spans a period of more than 3000 years, from Pre-dynastic Egypt to the present day.

Google virtual experience project. Digital exhibits include images of 30,000 artifacts, including 700 ultra high-resolution gigapixel images, over 450 curated exhibits, four VR experiences as well as six Google expeditions.

The digital collections of the FIT Library's Special Collections and College Archives. Features images from dozens of collections in the form of original fashion sketches, photographs, illustrations, and historic fashion plates. These collections contain many fine examples of women's wear, menswear, children's wear, millinery, footwear, jewelry, and costume created between the 18th and 20th century.

View digitized copies of Vogue (Paris) from 1920-1940 provided by Gallica, the digital library of the National Library of France and its partners.

The CFDA / Vogue Fashion Fund was established to provide financial awards and business mentoring to emerging fashion designers.

The Costume Designers Guild (CDG) is Local 892 of the International Alliance of Theatrical and Stage Employees (I.A.T.S.E.).

The National Council of Textile Organizations (NCTO) is a unique association representing the entire spectrum of the textile industry. From fibers to finished products, machinery manufacturers to power suppliers, NCTO is the voice of the U.S. textile industry.

A source for fashion law and business analysis, and serves as a community for lawyers, business executives, fashion industry insiders, designers, and students, alike.