VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Fashion Merchandising

Citation Tip

 Let the databases
do some of the work!

Many of the databases on the Databases A-Z list have an internal feature that will produce a citation in various styles. Look for a link or icon titled "cite" or "save, print, email." You will have to check for accuracy, but it is a great way to get started.

Cite Your Sources - APA Style

APA Citation & Business Resources

The standard APA guides (see Citation Styles and Guides) will help with articles and other standard sources, but some common business resources are not covered well, and you may not find many examples or specific guidelines. Here are some examples that will help:


APA CITATION FORMAT

  • Reference List Citation
    • Lastname, F. M. (Publication date). Title of Report. Site Name. 
    • Publisher/Database. (Publication date). Title of report. Site Name. 
  • In-Text Citation
    • (Author, Year) - author given
    • (Database, Year) - no author given

 

EXAMPLES

  • IBISWorld
    IBISWorld usually identifies the individual analyst who prepared a report, so that info should be included.
    • Hurley, M. (2017). IBISWorld Industry Report 44812. Women's Clothing Stores in the US. Retrieved October 3, 2017 from IBISWorld database.

    • (Hurley, 2017)

  • Mintel
    ‚Äč
    Mintel usually identifies the individual analyst who prepared a report, so that info should be included.
    • Rogers, L. (2014). The premium brand and luxury consumer. Mintel.

    • (Rogers, 2014)

  • SimplyAnalytics
    • SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.

    • SimplyAnalytics (2017). SimmonsLOCAL data. Retrieved February 28, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.

    • (SimplyAnalytics, 2017)

 

CITING GRAPHICS

Lastname, F. M./ Publisher. (Publication date). Title / description of graphic [Graph/Table/Infographic, etc].Title of report. Site Name. 

  • Mintel
    • DeSalva, Alexis (2020, January). Shopping behavior, by gender and age, November 2019 [Chart]. Luxury Fashion-US.  Mintel.

For more help, the following guides (developed by librarians) provide additional examples and tips for common business sources. They are all just examples and they may not necessarily all agree, so use what works best for you (and your instructor) and be consistent.