Research Guides: Fashion Merchandising: Industry

Women's Wear Daily

Women's Wear Daily Archive
The entire run of Women's Wear Daily (1910-6 months ago), a fundamental resource for the fashion industry, with searchable text.

WWD
Direct, online access to WWD, the “Bible” of the fashion industry. (limited to 10 concurrent users)

Industry Research Resources

IBISWorld
Provides access to Industry Reports: analyses of U.S. industries categorized by NAICS, and to ProcurementIQ: full-text procurement reports on indirect purchasing lines and products.
Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.
Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.
Statista
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Our Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets for up to 150 countries.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
In-depth reports providing statistics and analysis on consumer, industry, and service markets around the world.
Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts, full-text journals and periodicals on business, finance, and management topics. Includes all content in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Includes full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.

Industry Research Guide
More resources for researching an industry.

Trend Forecasting Resources

Market Trend Forecasting Resources

WGSN (World Global Style Network)
Focusing on the areas and intersections of fashion, style, and commerce, WGSN provides a global view on trends in design. Its archive contains millions of images from the runways, the street, retail outlets, and design sketches.
Fashion Snoops
A global trend forecasting agency focused on the industries of fashion, interior design, and wellness. A personal account, using your VCU email, is required to use the CREATE area or save content.

Fashion Merchandising Featured Books

The Business of Fashion
Call Number: TT496.U6 B87 2016
Information on the design, manufacturing, marketing, and distribution of fashion products within a global context.
Routledge Handbook of Sustainability and Fashion
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Explores fashion and sustainability at the levels of products, processes, and paradigms.
Marketing Fashion : strategy, branding and promotion
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
A practical guide to the fundamental principles of marketing and branding, from developing brand identity to creating a customer profile. Using examples and case studies drawn from a broad range of fashion, textile, and retail businesses, students are led through the marketing process from initial consumer and market research to the creation of exciting marketing and branding campaigns.

Fashion Trade Associations

Trade Associations support specific industries, and they can be valuable sources of information (like statistics).

American Apparel and Footwear Association
Cotton Incorporated
Research and marketing company for cotton. Their resources include a Monthly Economic Letter.
National Retail Federation
Worlds largest retail trade association includes the apparel industry. Features industry news, a podcast and access to Stores Magazine.

Fashion Merchandising

Related Guides

Fashion Trade Journals

Find Resources for Your Class

Your Librarian

Women's Wear Daily

Industry Research Resources

Trend Forecasting Resources

Fashion Merchandising Featured Books

Fashion Trade Associations

Ask Us