Research Guides: FASH 303: Design Theory and Illustration: Home

WGSN

WGSN (Worth Global Style Network)
Focusing on the areas and intersections of fashion, style, and commerce, WGSN provides a global view on trends in design. Its archive contains millions of images from the runways, the street, retail outlets, and design sketches.

Use WGSN to browse for:

Apparel companies specializing in prints
Prints & Graphics trends
Color trends
Color Library & Original Artwork

Company Research Resources

Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.
Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.
Data Axle
Data Axle, formerly ReferenceUSA, provides research on businesses including data summaries by neighborhood, city or state and by type or size of business. Users can conduct market research for similar or competitive businesses in a specific locality.
PrivCo
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.
Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts, full-text journals and periodicals on business, finance, and management topics. Includes all content in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Includes full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.
Morningstar Investment Center
Comprehensive stock database with research reports on companies, data on mutual, closed-end, and exchange-traded funds, investment tools, and educational features including interactive stock training and portfolio techniques.

Company Research Guide
More resources for researching a company.
Doing Company Research: A Resource Guide (Library of Congress)
This guide is designed to give someone searching for company information a place to start with a few ideas and strategies for finding company information.

Company Research Tip

Research Tip: Look up a company's corporate website for additional information (e.g. Gap Inc.).

Pattern & Color Research

Use the guides linked below to research color and pattern:

Browsing for Books

Use these call numbers to browse for books at the Cabell Library:

GT 500-2370 (1st Floor) -- Costume and Fashion; pattern books, history, terminology
NK 1160-1590 (3rd Floor) -- Decorative Arts. Decoration and Ornament. Design
NK 8800-9505.5 (3rd Floor) -- Textile history and design
TS 1300-4865 (4th Floor) -- Textile industry, fibers and machinery
TT 500-695 (4th Floor) -- Fashion: designers, dictionaries, handbooks, patterns, and more

FASH 303: Design Theory and Illustration

Related Guides

Print Fashion Magazines

Art Browsery

Arts Research Librarian

WGSN

Company Research Resources

Company Research Tip

Pattern & Color Research

Use the guides linked below to research color and pattern:

Browsing for Books

Use these call numbers to browse for books at the Cabell Library: