VCU Libraries

Research Guides

GDES 220: Design Practices

Related Guides

For additional research information

try these guides:

Search Terms

Browse for books and articles using the following keywords:

  • Archives in art
  • Artists as collectors
  • Designer/artist + curator

Browse for Books

Use these call numbers to browse for books at the Cabell Library:

  • N 400-3990 (3rd floor)
    Art Museum, Galleries
     
  • N 500-6500 (3rd floor)
    Modern & contemporary art
     
  • NK 845-1003 (3rd floor)
  • Graphic & commercial art

Learn more about the Library of Congress Classification System used to organize books in VCU Libraries:

Bloomsbury Design Library

Library Stack

Art Browsery

Look. Learn. Create.
Visit the Art Browsery on the 4th floor of Cabell Library to see a selection of new visually rich books available for checkout.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Carla-Mae Crookendale
(she/her)
Arts Research Librarian
Contact:
cmcrookendale@vcu.edu
(804) 827-0367
Cabell Library, Room 121-L

Ask Us

GDES 220 Assignment

PROMPT
Develop a catalogue that functions as a flexible archive in order to analyze and develop new forms of interpretation. This project challenges you to begin to use the process of collecting as a way of researching; to understand the process of archiving, and the archive itself; to use an archive to translate form into new language; and most importantly to look closer. Students are challenged to source a large array of material/media to create a database that functions as a flexible archive in order to analyze and experiment with conditional organizational structures.

The project is divided into three distinct phases: Cataloguing, Translation, and Synthesis. Each phase of the project includes an introduction, studio time, and process critiques.

  • Cataloguing - DESIGNER AS ARCHIVER
  • Translation - DESIGNER AS EDITOR
  • Synthesis - DESIGNER AS CURATOR

Creative Research for Graphic Design

Art/Design + Archives

Art/Design + Curation

Art/Design + Editing/Criticism

Citations