Research Guides: Geriatrics and Gerontology: Home

Best Bets

AGELINE
Abstracts of the literature of social gerontology. Literature covered is of interest to researchers, health professionals, and consumers. Produced by AARP.
more...less...
(1978 - present) VCU access only
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
more...less...
(1937 - present) VCU access only
MEDLINE/PubMed
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
more...less...
VCU access only
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)
APA database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents. Limited coverage from 1887 - 1926.
GoogleScholar
Scholarly literature crawled by Google.

SAGE Research Methods
Research methods tool providing access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, datasets, and videos about research methods, designing research projects, conducting research, writing up findings, and more.

The following links will assist you in understanding how to access materials through the Health Sciences Library website.

HSL Website Orientation for the College of Health Professions
This orientation tutorial for the Health Sciences Library will highlight the main features of the library's website, as well as important services available to you as an affiliate of VCU.
Creating an ILLiad Account
Before you can start requesting items from VCU Libraries, you will need to set up an account. This research guide will show you how to create an account and request items through interlibrary loan.
PubMed: Familiarize yourself with the PubMed interface with this list of video tutorials.

If you have not found what you are looking for in 10 minutes ... it's time to call your librarian.

Your librarian can provide many information based services for free, including:

Systematic Reviews - assistance with searching, citation management, and appraisal.
Expert Literature Searches
Evidence Based Practice Searches
Citation Management assistance
and more.

We can also come to your office, lab or faculty meeting, or class to give presentations on: