Research Guides: Health Related Sciences: Home

Tutorials

The following links will assist you in understanding how to access materials through the Health Sciences Library website.

Health Sciences Library Website Orientation for the College of Health Professions
This orientation tutorial for the Health Sciences Library will highlight the main features of the library's website, as well as important services available to you as an affiliate of VCU.
Creating an ILLiad Account
Before you can start requesting items from VCU Libraries, you will need to set up an account. This research guide will show you how to create an account and request items through interlibrary loan.
PubMed Online Training

The National Library of Medicine's Learning Resources Database provides tutorials for searching PubMed, the premier biomedical database. The "Tutorials" features training for using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and for Using PubMed in Evidence Based Practice.

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source of full-text journals and books indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). Also features evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.
APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Full text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. Includes full text for some earlier dissertations, along with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses citations from around the world.
Dissertations from VCU
Search all VCU dissertations/theses submitted to UMI. View 24-page previews; download full-text (PDF format) of those published after 1996.
VCU Scholars Compass
Scholars Compass is a publishing platform for the intellectual output of VCU’s academic, research, and administrative communities. Its goal is to provide wide and stable access to the exemplary work of VCU’s faculty, researchers, students, and staff.

Ph.D. Program in Health Related Sciences Dissertations
Digitized copies of dissertations from the Ph.D. Program in Health Related Sciences are in our available through Scholars Compass.

If you have not found what you are looking for in 10 minutes ... it's time to call your librarian.

Your librarian can provide many information based services for free, including:

Systematic Reviews - assistance with searching, citation management, and appraisal.
Expert Literature Searches
Evidence Based Practice Searches
Citation Management assistance
and more.

We can also come to your office, lab or faculty meeting, or class to give presentations on:

The following resources are available through VCU Libraries to help guide your literature review process.