VCU Libraries search includes books, articles, videos, and government documents that VCU Libraries has. It includes both research articles and popular sources. To limit to scholarly journals, use the "Peer Reviewed" link on the left of your results page.
Web of Science
Easy-to-use database of scholarly literature covering all scientific disciplines. Shows connections between sources that cite each other.
General Science Full Text
Search journals in all areas of science, with full text for some. Easy to use, designed for the non-specialist.
Academic Search Complete
Contains resources in all academic areas, including sciences, arts, social sciences and humanities.
VCU Libraries Search
Searches much of VCU Libraries collections and can restricted to peer reviewed articles.
Web of Science
Although interdisciplinary, Web of Science is one of the best databases for Astronomy research.
Biology -- Clinical Sciences / Medicine Database
PubMed is the go-to source for biomedical & health sciences research. Use Get it @ VCU to go through the library to access subscription (non-free) articles.
Biology - Molecular and Cellular Biology
Biology -- Environmental Sciences Databases
Aside from being useful for locating research articles in all areas of chemistry, it has property and reaction information for molecules and allows you to search by structure.
Computer Science Database
ACM Digital Library
Database of articles in computer science, computing and information systems.
Earth Sciences Database
Engineering Village, including Compendex, is a comprehensive source to discover research articles and conference presentations in all areas of engineering.
Comprehensive collection of articles, proceedings and standards in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Resources for the mathematical sciences, including mathematics, applied mathematics and statistics.
Premier database for physics, computer science and electrical engineering information. Part of Engineering Village.