Interdisciplinary Databases
VCU Libraries search includes books, articles, videos, and government documents that VCU Libraries has. It includes both research articles and popular sources. To limit to scholarly journals, use the "Peer Reviewed" link on the left of your results page.
Web of Science Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.
General Science Full Text Abstracts and select full-text from a core collection of general science journals. Designed specifically for students and non-specialists, covering a wide scope of subject areas.
Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text access for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and periodicals, among other materials. Covers science, social sciences, mathematics, engineering, and many other subjects.
VCU Libraries SearchSearches much of VCU Libraries collections and can restricted to peer reviewed articles.
Astronomy Database
Web of Science Although interdisciplinary, Web of Science is one of the best databases for Astronomy research.
Biology -- Clinical Sciences / Medicine Database
Biology - Molecular and Cellular Biology
PubMed PubMed is the go-to source for biomedical & health sciences research. Use Get it @ VCU to go through the library to access subscription (non-free) articles.
Biology -- Environmental Sciences Databases
Chemistry Database
Scifinder Aside from being useful for locating research articles in all areas of chemistry, it has property and reaction information for molecules and allows you to search by structure.
Computer Science Database
ACM Digital Library Bibliographic citations and full text of Association for Computing Machinery articles from journals, magazines, and conference readings. Coverage of most journals is from volume 1 to present.
Earth Sciences Database
Engineering Databases
Engineering Village Access to up-to-date engineering literature and patent databases providing coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. Includes Compendex, INSPEC, and NTIS.
IEEE Xplore Full-text database of IEEE and IET publications, including publications from predecessors such as IEE, IRE, and AIAA. Includes abstracts and full text for journals, magazines, transactions, published standards, and proceedings.
Mathematics/Statistics Database
MathSciNet The American Mathematical Society's comprehensive database of citations to research in all areas of mathematics.
Physics Database
INSPEC Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) database in physics, computer science, and electrical engineering. Includes citations, abstracts, and select full text for journals, proceedings, books, and other materials. Part of Engineering Village.
Chat