Research Guides: Music: Listen

Find Music @ VCU Libraries

Find Music @ VCU Libraries:

Search in VCU Libraries Search at library.vcu.edu.
Limit your search results to Material Type=Audio
1. For Streaming Music, limit to Show Only=Access Online
2. For CDs, limit to Show Only=On Shelf
  1. In the library? Write down the CD name and call number, and take them to the Cabell Library Information Desk, 1st Floor. A staff member will retrieve the CD for you.
  2. Off-campus? Sign in to your library account and click Request in the item record! You'll get an e-mail when your materials are available at the Cabell Library Information Desk, 1st Floor.

Want to check out a CD but don't have a way to play it?
Visit The Workshop to check out an external USB CD/DVD/Blu-Ray Player

Naxos Music Library
Offers a comprehensive streaming classical and world music from primary and independent labels. Jazz, rock, classic pop music, and audio books are also represented. Also, explore online resources on musical works, terms, genres and periods and biographies on composers or artists.

Create a personal account, create playlists, and enjoy them through the Naxos Mobile App!

Getting started with the Naxos Music Library
An introduction to the Naxos Music Library platform.
Using the Playlists in Naxos Music Library
Learn how to create a playlist in Naxos that you can listen to online or with the NML mobile app.

Naxos Music Library
Streaming classical and world music. Includes notes on musical works and biographical information on composers or artists.
Music Online
Music Online provides the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Integrated searching by ensemble, genre, historical events and more provides in-depth context for music history.
Jazz Music Library
Comprehensive collection of jazz recordings covering thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres from all over the world from the beginnings of jazz to today.
Classical Music Library
Multi-label, fully searchable database of music recordings, with a particular focus on contemporary music and women composers. Includes browse, search, and playlist functions and a cross-reference database of supplementary information.
Opera in Video
Comprehensive collection of operatic performances, interviews, and documentaries, covering the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes.

Global Music Archive
An archive and resource center of traditional and popular song, music and dance of African and the Americas.
Library of Congress Digital Music Collections
Audio recordings including jazz, folk, country and ragtime, and Leonard Bernstein and Aaron Copland Collections.