Research Guides: PADM 650: Principles of Nonprofit Management: Additional Resources

Selected Ejournals

Foundation Review
(v. 3, 2011-present)
Scholarly academic journal. Volumes 1-2 (2009-2010) are open access (free)
Journal of Nonprofit and Public Sector Marketing
(v. 4, 1997-present)
Scholarly academic journal
Journal of Public and Nonprofit Affairs
(v. 1, 2015-present)
Scholarly academic journal; open access
Nonprofit & Voluntary Sector Quarterly
(v. 1, 1972-present).
Scholarly academic journal
Nonprofit Management and Leadership
(v. 6, 1996-present)
Scholarly academic journal
Stanford Social Innovation Review
(v. 1, 2003-present)
Trade publication
Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations
(v. 1, 1990-present)
Scholarly academic journal

Selected Newspapers

Access World News
Also known as NewsBank, provides access to major national and international newspapers, local and regional titles, blogs, and more. Historical and current content, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch archive from 1903 to present.
Dow Jones Factiva
Click on News Pages to view the last two weeks of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The Washington Post. Use Search to find older articles or articles from publications around the world.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text for major national and international newspapers, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Times (London). Also includes full-text radio and television news transcripts.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
Full image of articles published in The New York Times including illustrations and advertisements. Covers from the first issue in 1851 to three years prior to the current year.

Selected Web Resources

These sites are excellent sources of 'gray literature', e.g., reports, papers, guides, brochures not readily available through normal market sources such as journals, trade publications, or magazines because they were never commercially published or were not widely distributed.

The Chronicle of Philanthrophy
Chronicle of Higher Education
Urban Institute
Created to provide nonpartisan analysis of social and economic issues facing American cities, the Institute provides its research freely. Click on any of the blue links on the left to bring up a list of publications on that topic.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
The national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. A project of the Urban Institute. Be sure to select Knowledge Base and FAQ at the bottom of the page to reach additional resources.
ConnectVA
A one-stop information-sharing site for nonprofit organizations in the Central Virginia area and for the individuals and communities they serve.
Independent Sector
Nonpartisan leadership network for nonprofits, foundations, and corporate giving programs. Be sure to check the Governance Resources and Sector Impact sections.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan 'fact tank' researching issues, attitudes, and trends that affect America and the world. Easily navigable site providing access to reports and data. Their reports are good examples of writing without taking a side.
Think Tank Search
Harvard's Kennedy School provides a Google custom search that will search Web publications from a large number of 'think tanks'. Enter your search term(s) in the box as in any Google search. The organization names are links to the respective Web sites.

iPOLL (Roper Center)
Extensive archive of public opinion information with questions and answers from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations such as Gallup, CNN, Pew Research Associates, the Wall Street Journal, and others.