Research Guides: THEA 309/310: History of Costumes: Costume History

Browsing Costume History

Use these call numbers to browse for books at the Cabell Library:

GT 500-2370 -- Costume and Fashion; pattern books, history, terminology
PN 2067 -- Theatrical costume and costume design.
TT 500-695 - Fashion: designers, dictionaries, handbooks, patterns and more

Costume History Books

Survey of Historic Costume
Call Number: GT580 .T67 2021
Learn about Western dress from the ancient world to today. Each chapter shows you the social, cross-cultural, environmental, geographic, and artistic influences on what people wore.
20,000 Years of Fashion: the history of costume and personal adornment
Call Number: GT510 .B6713 1987 (Cabell Library Reference, 1st Floor)
Illustrated history of fashion from ancient times to the present.
The Greenword Encyclopedia of Clothing through World History
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference GT507 .G74 2008
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: From 1066 to the Present
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference GT730 .C37 2006
Costume and Fashion: a concise history
Call Number: GT511 .L39 2012
Covers the landmarks of costume history, the forms and materials used through the ages, as well as the ways in which clothes have been used to protect, to express identity, and to attract or influence others.
What People Wore When
Call Number: GT511 .L474 2008
Works are presented first by chronology and then by subject, highlighting in detail the contrasting styles of individual clothing and accessories.
Women's Hats, Headdresses and Hairstyles
Call Number: GT2110 .D42 2006
More than 400 drawings provide an authentic record of over 1,300 years of changing fashions in women's hairstyles and headwear in England.
Fashions in Makeup: from ancient to modern times. by Richard Corson
Call Number: GT2340 .C67 2003
A comprehensive history of cosmetics that chronicles the pursuit of beauty from Ancient Egypt to the present day.
The History of Hair
Call Number: GT2290 .B79 2000
A study of the history of hair, and how fashion and events have influenced hair styles around the world.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference GT507 .E53 2005
Over 600 articles on fashion, the industry, and the issues that have defined the field.
3 volumes

Costume History Databases

Use databases to search for articles and essays from fashion and fashion journals on costume and fashion.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains Berg Fashion Library, which provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary text and image content on world dress and fashion. Includes e-books, reference works, images, and more.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
International index to articles in hundreds of design and craft journals. Also contains data on designers, craftspeople, studios, schools, workshops, and firms.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) (now Performing Arts Periodicals Database)
Citations and abstracts, and select full text covering dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more.
Art Full Text (now Art & Architecture Source)
Citations, abstracts, and selected full text for articles from international periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and art dissertations. Also indexes art reproductions from indexed periodicals across styles and art movements.
Now Art & Architecture Source with access to more journals.
Vogue Archive
Image-rich primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. It presents a portrait of its era through photographs, articles, and advertisements. Contains every page of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present.
JSTOR
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end typically 3 - 6 years prior to the current date).

Resources Beyond VCU Libraries

If you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.

Inter-library Loan (ILL)
Via Interlibrary Loan, you can borrow books, articles, and DVDs that VCU does not own.

WorldCat (via FirstSearch)
Consolidated catalog of items held by OCLC member libraries worldwide. WorldCat FirstSearch is the subscription version of the WorldCat database, with advanced search options and result listing by number of copies available.

RALC
The Richmond Academic Library Consortium is a group of Richmond area libraries which have agreed to extend limited borrowing privileges to students, faculty, and staff of any RALC school.

Citations

Citation Styles Research Guide
VCU Libraries guide to citing information in a variety of formats including APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Citation Tools
Provides information about choosing and using citation tools such as Mendeley, Zotero, and EndNote.
Purdue OWL - Research & Citation Resources
Comprehensive guide to in-text and reference list citations for APA, MLA and Chicago styles.

THEA 309/310: History of Costumes

Related Guides

Bloomsbury Fashion Central

Costume Journals

Costume History Online

Subject Guide

Ask Us

Browsing Costume History

Costume History Books

Costume History Databases

Resources Beyond VCU Libraries

Citations

VCU Libraries Search