VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Theatre

Online Plays

Plays + Diversity/Representation

Check out the research guides below to find curated lists of playwrights, plays, and anthologies that showcase/explore a variety of identities.

*Note: Some resources shown can only be accessed by users at the institutions that created the guides.

Plays: Online & Archival Collections

Search VCU Libraries

 

Scripts & Scores

Tips for finding play scripts                             and musical scores in VCU Libraries:

  1. Search for the play/musical title in VCU Libraries Search +
    1. For plays, limit the results to Material Type=book
      1. Results will include plays and books about plays. Sometimes adding the word "play" can help to surface a script. 
    2. For musicals, add the word "musical" to your search
      1. limit results to Subject=Scores or Vocal Scores
         
  2. Browse for plays on the 4th floor of the library in the P call number ranges
    1. Most plays are organized according to their national literature
      1. PA (Greek), PQ (French, Spanish, Italian) and PR (English literature), PS (American Literature). PT (German)
    2. General collections can be found from PN1500 - PN6000
      1. Monologues are mostly in PN2080

Digital Theatre +

National Theatre Collection

Broadway HD

Theatre Performances: Online Audio & Video

Filmed or televised plays and musicals



 
Find Performance DVDs @ VCU Libraries

  • Search in VCU Libraries Search on the library homepage
    • by title, e.g. Much Ado About Nothing
    • by subject e.g. Filmed Plays, Musical Films or Televised Operas
  • Refine results by Material Type=DVDs
  • Click on the title of the DVD desired then
    • Click on the 'Request' button to reserve it, then pick it up at the Information Service Desk, 1st floor, Cabell Library when notified OR
    • Write down the call number and ask for the DVD at the Information Service Desk
  • VCU Faculty can also book or schedule DVDs, videos, and films for future dates using the Film Booking Form.

Indexes to Find Theatre Plays

Research Tips

Use the indexes and catalogs below to find plays within anthologies, collections and periodicals. 
Try the following search terms in VCU Libraries Search to find additional resources.

Drama - bibliographyDrama - indexesEnglish dramaAmerican drama



Please Note: VCU Libraries does not have access to the subscription content of the following sites. They are listed for the freely available "play finder" features. Once a play is found, search for it by title in VCU Libraries or in the Twentieth Century North American Drama database


Theatre Play Analysis