Research Guides: Art History: Home

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online
Integrated searchable access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and more. (Limited to 3 simultaneous users)

Yale Art & Architecture ePortal

Yale Art & Architecture ePortal
Authoritative scholarly eBooks by academic and museum publishers as well as unique peer-reviewed content, covering art history, architecture, decorative art, photography, and design. Includes searchable images along with supplemental audio and video.

Cahiers d'Art Institute

Cahiers d'Art Institute
Digital catalogue raisonnés, comprehensive and annotated compilations of all known works by an artist. These works also contain videos and digital archives.

Bloomsbury Design Library

Bloomsbury Design Library
Cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more covering the global history, theory, and practice of crafts and design.

Art History Reference Books

Critical Terms for Art History
Call Number: N34 .C75 2003
A Short Guide to Writing about Art
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015
Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
Art: A Brief History
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference (1st floor) (N5300 .S923 2010 )

Timelines of World Art

Review significant moments in art history from all over the globe. For each of the six regions (Africa - Americas - Asia, Australia, New Zealand, & the Pacific - Europe - Middle East) there are three or four timelines, each covering a specific era. The timelines feature brief summaries of important events in the visual arts; and all link to articles in Grove Art Online for further reading.

Timelines of World Art

Resources Beyond VCU Libraries

If you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.

Inter-library Loan (ILL)
Via Interlibrary Loan, you can borrow books, articles, and DVDs that VCU does not own.

WorldCat (via FirstSearch)
Consolidated catalog of items held by OCLC member libraries worldwide. WorldCat FirstSearch is the subscription version of the WorldCat database, with advanced search options and result listing by number of copies available.

RALC
The Richmond Academic Library Consortium is a group of Richmond area libraries which have agreed to extend limited borrowing privileges to students, faculty, and staff of any RALC school.

Art History

Related Guides

Ask Us

Your Librarian