Study of Sound Series
"Each book in The Study of Sound offers a concise look at a single concept within the field of sound studies. With an emphasis on the interdisciplinary nature of the topics at hand, the series explores a range of core issues, debates, and objects within sound studies from a variety of perspectives and within a multitude of contexts." The 6 titles are:
Use these call numbers to browse for books at the Cabell Library:
M1-5000 -- Music
ML3800-3923 -- Philosophical and societal aspects of music.
Physics and acoustics of music.
Physiological aspects of music
NX650 -- Sonic Art
QC225 -- Acoustics and physics of music
TA365 -- Acoustical engineering
TK7881.4-.9 -- Sound systems. Sound recording. Sound reproduction
The Art of Sound
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Art of Immersive Soundscapes
The Fundamentals of Sonic Art and Sound Design
Sonic Art : an introduction to electroacoustic music composition
Arduino for musicians : a complete guide to Arduino and teensy microcontrollers Creator
Noise, Water, Meat: A History of Sound in the Arts
Sound Art Revisited
Background NoiseMany podcasts include music at the beginning and end, as well as during transitions. Music can also be added into the background of a noisy interview clip to mask the noise.
Royalty free music allows you to purchase a license for a piece of music that entitles you to use it for the duration of the license.
For free music, search for creative commons licensed music, which generally allow you to use a piece of music for free and without permission, as long as you credit the artist. Some creative commons licensed music is restricted to non-commercial uses. Always make sure you have permission to use a piece of music. You can also search for music that is in the public domain, in which the copyright has expired. Websites to browse through include:
| Free Sound | A collaborative database of CC-licensed sound. Freesound focusses on sound and sound effects, not music | |
| Archive.org | Non-profit digital library with collections of digitized free movies, music, images, websites and more | |
| BBC Sound Effects Archive | Over 33,000 clips from across the world from the past 100 years. Free for non-commercial use as long as you credit the BBC. | |
| Sound Effects CDs | The Workshop has a royalty-free sound effects library of more than 250 CDs (with searchable indexes) that can be used to add sounds to audiovisual projects. |
| Free Music Archive | CC-licensed music grouped by genre | | |
| ccMixter | CC-licensed music for film, video and games | | |
| CCTrax | CC-licensed music grouped by genre | | |
| Incompetech | CC-licensed and royalty-free music from one composer | | |
| Soundcloud | Audio-sharing site with a decent amount of CC-licensed music | | |
| mobygratis | Electronic musician Moby has released many of his songs to use for free in educational projects | | |
If you have a musical friend, consider asking them if you can use their music or if they’d like to partner with you to create sounds specifically for your project.
Chat