Research Guides: FASH 120: Intro to the Fashion Industry: Home

FASH 120 Research Resources Tutorial

FASH 120 Research Tutorial
An introduction to research resources to use for your FASH 120 class, especially for the business collaboration assignment.

Research your Industry, Company & Consumers

Industry & Company Research Resources

IBISWorld
Provides access to industry analysis and research for U.S. industries categorized by NAICS, as well as select Chinese and Global industries organized by sector.

Company Research Resources

Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts, full-text journals and periodicals on business, finance, and management topics. Includes all content in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Includes full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.
Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.
Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.
Statista
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Our Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets for up to 150 countries.

Consumer Research Resources

Mintel
Full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets. Reports analyze market share, segmentation, and trends. Upon first login register with your VCU email address.
WARC
Global advertising and marketing trends, including market intelligence, case studies, conference reports, articles, expenditure data, profiles of major brand owners, and consumer insight.

Company Corporate Websites

Research Tip: Company Corporate Website (e.g. gapinc.com, lb.com, ascenaretail.com)
A company's corporate website can be a rich source of company information e.g.

Values
Brands/Subsidiaries
Annual reports
News

Marketing Resources

Marketing Research Resources

WARC
Global advertising and marketing trends, including market intelligence, case studies, conference reports, articles, expenditure data, profiles of major brand owners, and consumer insight.
Fashion Snoops
A global trend forecasting agency focused on the industries of fashion, interior design, and wellness. A personal account, using your VCU email, is required to use the CREATE area or save content.
Research Tip: Search for 'marketing' to find relevant reports.

FASH 120: Intro to the Fashion Industry

Related Guides

Investopedia

Arts Research Librarian

FASH 120 Research Resources Tutorial

Research your Industry, Company & Consumers

Company Corporate Websites

Marketing Resources