Research Guides: IDES 623: Advanced Design Studies: Home

Bloomsbury Design Library

Bloomsbury Design Library
Cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more covering the global history, theory, and practice of crafts and design.

Data & Statistics Research Guide
Links to resources for data on a variety of topics including Demographics, Education & Health
Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan "fact tank" researching and providing information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Create thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, and marketing data. Allows you to access data by geography, so you can focus on a state, Congressional District, county, ZIP Code, census tract, and census block-group.
Use Claritas Market Segments within SimplyAnalytics to identify the social and behavioral lifestyles of people in a specific geographical location.
Tip: Create an account to save your information.

SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
To save your data, please create a personal account using your VCU email address.

Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5

Claritas Segments
Browse by zip code, or use Segment Details to filter personas based on specifics info like age, income or education.

Use these art and design databases to search for scholarly articles and essays on Interior Design topics.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations for journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
International index to articles in hundreds of design and craft journals. Also contains data on designers, craftspeople, studios, schools, workshops, and firms.
Art Full Text (now Art & Architecture Source)
Citations, abstracts, and selected full text for articles from international periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and art dissertations. Also indexes art reproductions from indexed periodicals across styles and art movements.
Now Art & Architecture Source with access to more journals.

Combine Avery Index and DAAI to search for interior design articles in both together!

Start with one database e.g. Avery Index:

Combine EBSCO databases to search for articles on interior design + other disciplines!

Some databases of interest:

Education: ERIC, Education Research Complete, Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Hospitality: Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Healthcare: Health Source, CINAHL
Sustainability: GreenFILE, Environment Complete

If you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.

Inter-library Loan (ILL)
Via Interlibrary Loan, you can borrow books, articles, and DVDs that VCU does not own.

WorldCat (via FirstSearch)
Consolidated catalog of items held by OCLC member libraries worldwide. WorldCat FirstSearch is the subscription version of the WorldCat database, with advanced search options and result listing by number of copies available.

RALC
The Richmond Academic Library Consortium is a group of Richmond area libraries which have agreed to extend limited borrowing privileges to students, faculty, and staff of any RALC school.