BIOZ 310: Genetics Lab

VCU Libraries Search

Top Article Databases

These article databases are the best starting places for literature research in genetics and molecular biology.

PubMed
PubMed is the primary database for locating research articles in medicine, health and biology. Although using PubMed to discover articles is free, go through VCU Libraries and use Get It @ VCU to access the full text of subscription (non-free) articles.
Web of Science
Search PubMed at the same time you search Web of Science and BIOSIS using the 'All Databases' tab or search only MEDLINE and use the 'Refine Results' list to narrow your search.
ProQuest Databases
Databases covering the sciences, health sciences, arts, business, and social sciences. They can be searched all at once, in subject groups or one at a time. The science collection is especially strong in environmental studies.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete has information about both popular and scholarly articles on a variety of topics and includes full text for many of them. It's a good place to get a few articles on a topic, especially if you are just getting started.

Books

The VCUL collections includes books, reference materials, and online materials in the field of molecular biology. Use the catalog to search for books by title, author or subject.

A dictionary of genetics (Oxford)
Online resource
Dictionary of bioinformatics and computational biology
Call Number: QH324.2 .D53 2004
Cabell Reference shelf
Molecular Biology of the Cell by Alberts, Bruce, et. al.
Call Number: QH581.2 .M64 2002
The dictionary of gene technology: genomics, transcriptomics, proteomics
Call Number: QH506 .K333 2004 (2 volumes)
Cabell Reference shelf

BIOZ 310: Genetics Lab

Ask Us

Related Guides

VCU Libraries Search

Top Article Databases

Books