Research Guides: The Clinical Inquiry Process Resource Guide: Primary Studies

EBP Pyramid

What is a Primary Study?

Good Sources for Searching for Primary Studies

CINAHL Coverage: (1937 - present) Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
PubMed
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials.
Web of Science
Citation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library Library includes access to the Sigma Theta Tau's Registry of Nursing Research
Dissertations and Theses Full Text Full text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. Includes full text for some earlier dissertations, along with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses citations from around the world.
more...less...
Coverage: 1637-
Dissertations from VCU
Search all VCU dissertations/theses submitted to UMI. View 24-page previews; download full-text (PDF format) of those published after 1996.
more...less...
(1996 - present) VCU access only
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center Collection of all types of educational resources: journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, dissertations. Coverage begins in 1966. More than 1.2 million records. Produced by the Department of Education. VCU Libraries provides four versions: three from vendors (EBSCO, CSA, and FirstSearch); and one from the Department of Education. While the content is the same, the interfaces are different. You may end up using any combination of the four.