The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram (2023)The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram (version 4) is an updated version of the previous iteration (version 3) created in 2020. It offers a more detailed depiction of the steps involved in research, performance improvement, and evidence-based practice, with new callouts on ethical reviews, feasibility, research data, and changes in verbiage.
It is important to note that the clinical inquiry process is not a linear, sequential process. Rather, individuals may find themselves working on different parts of the process simultaneously or even revisiting previous steps as they move forward. This can be influenced by various factors, such as evolving evidence, organizational changes, and team dynamics to name a few.
The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist (2023)The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist is a handout used in instructional sessions with nurses about the clinical inquiry process. This process includes evidence-based practice, performance improvement, and research. The revised handout closely aligns with the 4th version of the Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram and contains information related to the performance improvement process and various other aspects of the clinical inquiry process.
Doing a Good Search : Basic Rules and Search Tips (2023)This handout is an update of a previous handout and should be used as a reference for those learning how to search databases effectively. The handout covers the basic rules of doing a good search in order to search more efficiently and effectively. The revised handout includes information related to Boolean operators, types of questions, and a list of potential databases to be searched for various clinical questions.
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
CINAHLCoverage: (1937 - present)
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseFree database of over 19,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) DatabaseThe TRIP Database performs a simple search in more than 60 databases related to evidence-based resources, allowing rapid identification of the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. You can easily restrict your search to a given level of evidence in the hierarchy.