The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram (v. 5) - 2024This updated edition of The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram improves on the 2023 version. It provides a depiction of the steps involved in the clinical inquiry process, covering research, performance improvement, and evidence-based practice. The revisions in this version emphasize the importance of alerting users to the iterative nature of clinical inquiry and the ongoing need to assess the situation or patient based on evolving evidence. It's crucial to recognize that the clinical inquiry process does not follow a linear, sequential progression. Instead, individuals may find themselves concurrently addressing different aspects of the process or revisiting prior steps as they progress. This is influenced by various factors, such as evolving evidence, organizational changes, a patient’s condition, and team dynamics, among others.
The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist (2024)The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist is a handout used in instructional sessions with nurses about the clinical inquiry process. This process includes evidence-based practice, performance improvement, and research. The revised handout closely aligns with the 4th version of the Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram and contains information related to the performance improvement process and various other aspects of the clinical inquiry process.
Doing a Good Search : Basic Rules and Search Tips (2024)This updated handout, previous version published in 2023, serves as a reference for individuals learning effective database search practices. It covers fundamental search principles, including Boolean operators, question types, and potential databases for various questions for assignments or in the clinical environment. Notably, this version incorporates a diagram illustrating the search process.
Remember, the search process is iterative, involving repeated cycles of refinement. Your approach will vary depending on the specific question you're trying to answer.
Update of Doing a Good Search: Basic Rules and Search Tips (2023)
The original version appeared in the following article:
McGrath, J. M., Brown, R. E., & Samra, H. A. (2012). Before you search the literature: how to prepare and get the most out of citation databases. Newborn and Infant Nursing Reviews, 12(3), 162-170.
Primary Research - RCT's, Cohort Study, Case Reports, etc.
CINAHLCoverage: (1937 - present)
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
PubMed/MedlineThe primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials.
Web of ScienceCitation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.
Dissertations and Theses Full TextFull text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. Includes full text for some earlier dissertations, along with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses citations from around the world.
Dissertations from VCUSearch all VCU dissertations/theses submitted to UMI. View 24-page previews; download full-text (PDF format) of those published after 1996.
ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterCollection of all types of educational resources: journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, dissertations. Coverage begins in 1966. More than 1.2 million records. Produced by the Department of Education. VCU Libraries provides four versions: three from vendors (EBSCO, CSA, and FirstSearch); and one from the Department of Education. While the content is the same, the interfaces are different. You may end up using any combination of the four.
Chat