Research Guides: Nursing Evidence Based Practice Resources: Meta-Search Engines

Meta-Search Engines - Search Multiple Sources

TRIP: Turning Research into Practice
Searches 75 websites for high quality evidence-based medical information.
SumSearch2
Simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews and practice guidelines from PubMed, National Guideline Clearinghouse and DARE. Results are merged into one list sorted by year of publication.
NHS Evidence
National Institute for Health and Clinical Evidence. Provides access to local, regional, UK and international clinical and non-clinical information. Includes evidence summaries, systematic reviews, statistics, evidence-based clinical guidelines.

Filters

PICO Search - PubMed
Search PubMed through a form that accommodates PICO inquiries.
Finding Evidence in PubMed
Filters for PubMed developed by staff of Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library at Yale University
PubMed Clinical Queries
Filters designed by the National Library of Medicine based on the work of RB Haynes et al.
Evidence-Based Nursing Filters (CINAHL)
Filters for CINAHL for diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, therapy, meta-analysis, and qualitative research developed by the Arizona Health Sciences Library.

Useful Documents

The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram (v. 5) - 2024 This updated edition of The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram improves on the 2023 version. It provides a depiction of the steps involved in the clinical inquiry process, covering research, performance improvement, and evidence-based practice. The revisions in this version emphasize the importance of alerting users to the iterative nature of clinical inquiry and the ongoing need to assess the situation or patient based on evolving evidence. It's crucial to recognize that the clinical inquiry process does not follow a linear, sequential progression. Instead, individuals may find themselves concurrently addressing different aspects of the process or revisiting prior steps as they progress. This is influenced by various factors, such as evolving evidence, organizational changes, a patient’s condition, and team dynamics, among others.
Evidence-Based Decision Making at the Bedside Process (2024) The purpose of the diagram is to help those involved in the clinical inquiry process to understand how the process may work at the bedside
The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist (2024) The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist is a handout used in instructional sessions with nurses about the clinical inquiry process. This process includes evidence-based practice, performance improvement, and research. The revised handout closely aligns with the 4th version of the Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram and contains information related to the performance improvement process and various other aspects of the clinical inquiry process.
Doing a Good Search : Basic Rules and Search Tips (2024) This updated handout, previous version published in 2023, serves as a reference for individuals learning effective database search practices. It covers fundamental search principles, including Boolean operators, question types, and potential databases for various questions for assignments or in the clinical environment. Notably, this version incorporates a diagram illustrating the search process. Remember, the search process is iterative, involving repeated cycles of refinement. Your approach will vary depending on the specific question you're trying to answer. Update of Doing a Good Search: Basic Rules and Search Tips (2023) The original version appeared in the following article: McGrath, J. M., Brown, R. E., & Samra, H. A. (2012). Before you search the literature: how to prepare and get the most out of citation databases. Newborn and Infant Nursing Reviews, 12(3), 162-170.
Things to Consider When it Comes to Publishing (2024) Handout that discusses what to consider when it comes to publishing.
Difference between Systematic, Integrative and Scoping Reviews (2024)
Finding Clinical Practice Guidelines Guidelines (2018) Handout that explains the various places one can go to find guidelines now that the National Guidelines Clearinghouse has been shutdown.
Zotero Tip Sheet (2024 )
Tips for Writing an Abstract
Abstract Writing Checklist
Poster Development Tips
Search Documentation Sheet for Reviews (2021) - Make a Copy or Download to Use Spreadsheet to track terms, databases and search strategies used for systematic reviews or other in-depth reviews.
Scholars Compass Submission Information Sheet Be sure to download and submit with poster or other work product.