Skip to Main Content
Possible Limits to Use
- Meta-Analysis
- Systematic Review
- Review
Useful Documents
The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram (v. 5) - 2024
This updated edition of The Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram improves on the 2023 version. It provides a depiction of the steps involved in the clinical inquiry process, covering research, performance improvement, and evidence-based practice. The revisions in this version emphasize the importance of alerting users to the iterative nature of clinical inquiry and the ongoing need to assess the situation or patient based on evolving evidence. It's crucial to recognize that the clinical inquiry process does not follow a linear, sequential progression. Instead, individuals may find themselves concurrently addressing different aspects of the process or revisiting prior steps as they progress. This is influenced by various factors, such as evolving evidence, organizational changes, a patient’s condition, and team dynamics, among others.
Evidence-Based Decision Making at the Bedside Process (2024)
The purpose of the diagram is to help those involved in the clinical inquiry process to understand how the process may work at the bedside
The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist (2024)
The Clinical Inquiry Question Development Checklist is a handout used in instructional sessions with nurses about the clinical inquiry process. This process includes evidence-based practice, performance improvement, and research. The revised handout closely aligns with the 4th version of the Clinical Inquiry Process Diagram and contains information related to the performance improvement process and various other aspects of the clinical inquiry process.
Doing a Good Search : Basic Rules and Search Tips (2024)
This updated handout, previous version published in 2023, serves as a reference for individuals learning effective database search practices. It covers fundamental search principles, including Boolean operators, question types, and potential databases for various questions for assignments or in the clinical environment. Notably, this version incorporates a diagram illustrating the search process.
Remember, the search process is iterative, involving repeated cycles of refinement. Your approach will vary depending on the specific question you're trying to answer.
Update of Doing a Good Search: Basic Rules and Search Tips (2023)
The original version appeared in the following article:
McGrath, J. M., Brown, R. E., & Samra, H. A. (2012). Before you search the literature: how to prepare and get the most out of citation databases. Newborn and Infant Nursing Reviews, 12(3), 162-170.
Things to Consider When it Comes to Publishing (2024)
Handout that discusses what to consider when it comes to publishing.
Finding Clinical Practice Guidelines Guidelines (2018)
Handout that explains the various places one can go to find guidelines now that the National Guidelines Clearinghouse has been shutdown.
Search Documentation Sheet for Reviews (2021) - Make a Copy or Download to Use
Spreadsheet to track terms, databases and search strategies used for systematic reviews or other in-depth reviews.
Scholars Compass Submission Information Sheet
Be sure to download and submit with poster or other work product.
Evidence Summaries/Synthesis - Systematic Review, Meta Analysis, Integrative Review, Reviews
PubMed/MEDLINE
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
Clinical Queries - PubMed
Clinical Queries offers a user-friendly approach to evidence-based searching on the PubMed/Medline database. Designed for busy practitioners, this specialized interface provides fast access to reliable clinical studies. Clinical Queries is divided into three sections: clinical studies, systematic reviews, and medical genetics.
CINAHL
Coverage: (1937 - present)
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
Provides access to structured abstracts of systematic reviews, from around the world, which have been critically appraised by reviewers at the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, England.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database
The TRIP Database performs a simple search in more than 60 databases related to evidence-based resources, allowing rapid identification of the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. You can easily restrict your search to a given level of evidence in the hierarchy.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Free database of over 19,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
Chat