Dance

Archival dance texts, images and audio

Explore music, theater, and dance online resources at the Library of Congress.

Works around the world to document endangered dance. Dance history includes Ballet and many Asian dance traditions.

Includes the online Ballet Dictionary, a resource with definitions of 170 ballet terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet and the Repertory Archive, which offers information on individual ballets, choreographers, and composers.

Ballet history and technique, written by ballet teacher Dick Andros.

Including timeline and bibliographies on dance history

Dance Instruction Manuals Ca. 1490 - 1920, American Memory, The Library of Congress. Includes "Western Social Dance".

This collection consists of moving image materials that document the extraordinary journey of a woman who changed the face of American modern dance. The Collection highlights Dunham’s early explorations as an anthropologist in the 1930s as she observed a multitude of movement types and dance forms.

Finding aid for a collection including primary source materials such as interviews, performance programs, photographs, and correspondence.

Dance images made available for study by the Jerome Robbins Dance Division at the Library for the Performing Arts featuring the department's iconographic file of historical prints and photographs of dancers.

Online exhibits on dance from cultural institutions around the world.

The DHC is an alliance of institutions holding significant collections documenting dance history. Includes resources for teaching and dance companies. Highlights digital dance projects such as their 100 Dance Treasures profiles and performance clips.

An introduction to Asian theatre and dance traditions, covering India, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, China, Korea, and Japan. Each chapter starts with a country profile and provides a map and essential information on population, ethnicities, languages, and religions.

A multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.

The National Dance Education Organization (NDEO) is a non-profit, membership organization dedicated to advancing dance education centered in the arts for people of all backgrounds. NDEO provides dance artists, educators, and administrators of all backgrounds a network of resources and support, a base for advocacy and research, and access to professional development opportunities that focus on the importance of dance in the human experience.

National Core Arts Standards: A Conceptual Framework, is a narrative document that outlines the philosophy, primary goals, dynamic processes, structures, and outcomes that shape student learning and achievement in dance, media arts, music, theatre, and visual arts, as articulated in the National Core Arts Standards.

CORD provides opportunities for dance professionals from a broad range of specialties to exchange ideas, resources, and methodologies through publication, international and regional conferences, and workshops.

The Society of Dance History Scholars advances the field of dance studies through research, publication, performance, and outreach to audiences across the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Of particular interest is their list of genre or period-specific web sites.

Supports the creation of new modern dance work through performance and education. Includes links to finding aids for The American Dance Festival Archives which are held in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.

The national service organization for not-for-profit professional dance. Includes quick facts and figures about the dance market, government affairs, and advice for young dancers.

This directory includes lists of dance companies, dance professionals, music, presenters, festivals, funding, merchandise, resources and study.

A global listing of contemporary dance companies, organized by country.

Sign up for a daily newsletter to stay on top of current national and international dance news.

Founded in 2014, in London by Wind & Foster director Jevan Chowdhury, Moving Cities captures international dancers in real settings.