Use these call numbers to browse for books at the Cabell Library:
GV1580-1799.4 Dance (Cabell, 1st floor)
-- Dance - Study and teaching GV 1645-1728
-- Dance History M 1450
--Dance music M 1520-1526
-- Ballets (scores, excerpts) PN 2037
--Theatrical Costume TT 490-698
--Costume design & construction
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Covers all aspects of dance performance and the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms. Includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
Surveys the emergence of ballet from ancient Asian models to the present, providing overviews of rhythmic movement as a subject of art, photography, and cinema. This reference covers: choreographers, composers, costumers, dance companies, dancers, productions, set designers, techniques, and terminology.
A collection of the verbal language of dance practitioners. Includes the words and phrases of their technical and vernacular languages (which are used to communicate what is essentially a non-verbal activity) that have been collected in rehearsal, classes and workshops by interviews, and from published sources.
This reference is a concise history of all forms of dance. Detailing the development of dance from its earliest beginnings, this guide covers the intersection of dance and religion, social dance, ballet, modern dance, tap, jazz, film and theatrical dance, and contemporary dance.
The development of Western theatrical dance from the Renaissance to the first decades of the 21st century, incorporating the most recent scholarship and projecting trends. (Also in print: GV1787 .A467 2018)
Consolidated catalog of items held by OCLC member libraries worldwide. WorldCat FirstSearch is the subscription version of the WorldCat database, with advanced search options and result listing by number of copies available.