This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music  

Classical, Jazz, scores, recordings
Last Updated: Feb 2, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide provides an overview of tools and basic strategies to search for books, journals, articles, scores, recordings, and other music resources.

Ask Us!

JBCJames Branch Cabell Library

Call: 804-828-1110
Toll-free:  1-866-VCU-BOOK
Fax:  804-828-0151

901 Park Avenue
PO Box 842033
Richmond, VA 23284-2033

How can we help?

Spacer

Best Bets

Start your music research and exploration with these resources.

  • Music Online
    The most comprehensive collection of online music recordings, video and reference on the web. You can access recordings as streaming files or on your mobile devices! Gatewaty to: Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound, Classical Score Library, African American Music Reference (full text) and more.
  • Oxford Music Online
    From Bach to the blues, this online resource provides authoritative information of all aspects of music world wide, with over 50,000 articles, 28,000 biographies, timelines, advanced search and browse features. Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
  • Music Index
    Guide to articles and literature about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 650 periodicals. Includes reviews and notes first performances and obituaries.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  
      
    Citations and abstracts to the international music literature. Indexes many foreign-language journals. Includes citations to dissertations and essays in books. Focuses on academic research.

Citations

 

Books on Music Research

Cover Art
Irvine's writing about music - Irvine, Demar
Call Number: Internet Resources ML3797.I79 1999eb
ISBN: 0585314489

Cover Art
Writing about music: an introductory guide - Wingrell, Richard J.
Call Number: ML3797 .W54 2009
ISBN: 0136157785

Cover Art
Music library and research skills - Gottlieb, Jane
Call Number: Cabell Library ML3787 .G68 2009
ISBN: 0131584340

Cover Art
Sourcebook for research in music - Crabtree, Phillip
Call Number: ML113 .C68 2005
ISBN: 0253346118
Available as an e-book or from the book collection!

Cover Art
Music in words : a guide to researching and writing about music - Herbert, Trevor
Call Number: Cabell Library ML3797 .H537 2009
ISBN: 0195373723

Media & Reserves Librarian

Profile Image
Nell Chenault
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Cabell Library, Room 121c
VCU Libraries
(804) 828-2070
Send Email
Job Title:
Research Librarian for Film and Music
 

Newest Books on Music

See the New Titles link from the VCU Libraries Home Page or the VCU Libraries Catalog for new music material added within the last 3 months, including RSS feed options.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip