Research Guides: FASH 350: Fashion Promotion: Target Customer Analysis

Target Customer Analysis

Target Customer Overview

Demographics
- Browse Topics>Consumers & Audiences in WARC
- Browse demographic data in the RKMA Consumer Behavior report
- Browse company profiles for demographic traits in Factiva, Plunket, Corporate websites
Psychographics
- Browse the Consumers sections of Mintel Reports
- Browse Consumers section of Passport GMID
- Search Consumer in WGSN to browse consumer trend reports
- Browse Claritas Segment profiles using the Narrow Segments filters
- Browse company news for psychographic traits in Business Source Complete & ABI Inform
  - Search company name + customers / marketing; product + customers / marketing

Fashion consumers’ channel-hopping profiles by psychographics and demographics (WARC)
Omni-channel retailing has created different shopping paradigms, such as channel hopping, to meet diverse consumer expectations through various channels.

Consumer Research Resources

Mintel
Full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets. Reports analyze market share, segmentation, and trends. Upon first login register with your VCU email address.
WARC
Global advertising and marketing trends, including market intelligence, case studies, conference reports, articles, expenditure data, profiles of major brand owners, and consumer insight.
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
(5 concurrent users)

To save your data, please create a personal account using your VCU email address.

Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
Data Axle
Data Axle, formerly ReferenceUSA, provides research on businesses including data summaries by neighborhood, city or state and by type or size of business. Users can conduct market research for similar or competitive businesses in a specific locality.
Statista
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Our Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets for up to 150 countries.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
In-depth reports providing statistics and analysis on consumer, industry, and service markets around the world.
Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts, full-text journals and periodicals on business, finance, and management topics. Includes all content in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Includes full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.

Consumer Research Guide
More resources for researching your consumers
Doing Consumer Research: A Resource Guide (Library of Congress)
This guide specifically focuses on resources useful for the business to consumer (B2C) industry, where individuals are the end users of a product or service. While this guide does not cover every resource, it does highlight commonly used sources and publishers of population and consumer data.
Trends.google.com
Google Trends is a website by Google that analyzes the popularity of top search queries in Google Search across various regions and languages.
Research Tip: Use to gauge consumer interest in products or brands