This research guide provides links to numerous image databases and an overview of tools and strategies for finding and using art and other images.
What'd We Miss?
IDES 251 FINAL PROJECT: What'd We Miss?
Choose a building from the ancient world up to 1850 from a Place/Region NOT discussed in class!
Create a PowerPoint or Google Slide presentation and include the following information:
1. Your name, the name of the building that you have researched, the location, the culture who produced it, and the approximate year of construction
2. Provide context:
Provide context about why this was built, by whom, and for whom? Was this structure typical of the culture and period in which it was built - in terms of overall style, design process, etc? What materials were used? Were those significant to the culture?
Create a timeline feature that highlights what else was being built in the world at this time. Consider what other inventions or important events were happening. Explain how this building corresponds to the global design history narrative of this course.
Bibliography of at least 3 sources (excluding Wikipedia) using APA style format.
Integrated searchable access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and more. (Limited to 3 simultaneous users)
A survey that examines--together--engineering and architectural accomplishments. Sites are arranged within a sociocultural timeline that examines them in terms of historic events and trends, social change, economic developments, and technological innovations--factors that all helped shape architecture and engineering design solutions over millennia.
Spanning from 3,500 BCE to the present, and organized along a global timeline, this guide emphasizes the connections, contrasts, and influences of architectural movements throughout history and around the world.
A survey of architecture, interiors, furniture, and decorative arts from the past to the present. It is a completely integrated and interdisciplinary reference for: architecture, architectural details, architectural surface treatments, space planning, interior design, interior architectural features, interior surface treatments, motifs, furniture, color, lighting, textiles, and decorative accessories.
Features hundreds of detailed drawings from Europe and the Americas to Egypt, China, and India. It covers a host of historical and contemporary architectural styles, from ancient and classical to Pre-Columbian, Romanesque, Renaissance, Palladian, art nouveau, Brutalist, and biomorphic.
Spanning six centuries of global design, this survey covers decorative arts and design produced in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Indian subcontinent, and the Islamic world, from 1400 to the present. Also in print: NK600 .H57 2013: Oversize Books - Shelved upright (4th floor)
A global history of ornament from the Middle Ages to today. Crossing historical and geographical boundaries and considering the role of ornament in both art and architecture, this book offers a nuanced examination that integrates medieval, Renaissance, baroque, and modern Euroamerican traditions with their Islamic, Indian, Chinese, and Mesoamerican counterparts.
Citations for journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Citations, abstracts, and selected full text for articles from international periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and art dissertations. Also indexes art reproductions from indexed periodicals across styles and art movements.