Research Guides: International Program in Addiction Studies: Peer-reviewed literature

Core databases for research in addictions

NOTE: Each library subscribes to somewhat different sets of journals so if you can't locate the full text of an article from a VCU database, you may be able to get it from KCL or UA.

Virginia Commonwealth University Databases (use your VCU eID name & password)

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Embase (via Ovid)
Biomedicine and pharmacology citation database (1974 - present) with an international scope. Recommended for systematic reviews, and for finding drug and medical device information. Updated weekly. Not compatible with Internet Explorer 8, 9, and 10.
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
Cochrane Library
Database of Cochrane Collaboration systematic reviews healthcare evidence. Also includes databases of clinical trials, other systematic reviews, and review methodology.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.

Kings College Databases: use your King's user name and password to locate journal articles subscribed to by KCL

Medline (KCL)
This link takes you directly to Ovid Medline where you can search for papers and reviews in the fields of medicine, dentistry and allied health. Click on Medline (Ovid) - King's to access
PsycINFO (KCL)
This link takes you directly to PsycINFO where you can search for information on psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines. Click on PsycINFO (Ovid) - King's to access this database.
Embase (KCL)
A biomedical and pharmacological database provides access to European and non-English journals not covered by PubMed/Medline, and has many more drug therapy journals. Often used in combination with PubMed. Click on Embase (Ovid) - King's to access this database.
Scopus (KCL)
Comprehensive coverage of health, life sciences includes all journals covered in PubMed and Embase. In addition to American journals, it includes European and Asia Pacific literature in both English and non-English
Web of Science (KCL)
This link takes you directly to the full text of a journal article subscribed to by King's college
more...less...
IMPORTANT: does not work with Internet Explorer 8 browser.

Adelaide Databases: use your Adelaide user name and password to locate journal articles subscribed to by UA

PubMed (UA)
This link takes you directly to the full text of journal articles subscribed to by Adelaide.
PsycINFO (UA)
This link takes you directly to the full text of journal articles subscribed to by Adelaide
Embase (UA)
This link takes you directly to the full text of journal articles subscribed to by Adelaide
Web of Science (UA)
This link takes you directly to the full text of journal articles subscribed to by Adelaide