Research Guides: International Program in Addiction Studies: Books

Need backgound information?

What is addiction?
What are the properties of addictive drugs?
What are the biological causes of addiction?
How is it diagnosed?
What treatment options are available?

Although answers to questions like these may be found in the peer-reviewed literature, more fundamental and comprehensive coverage will be found in textbooks.

Neuropathology of Drug Addictions and Substance Misuse Volume 1 (Adelaide)
Foundations of Understanding, Tobacco, Alcohol, Cannabinoids and Opioids; 2016
Preedy, Victor R. (editor)
Neuropathology of Drug Addictions and Substance Misuse Volume 2 (Adelaide)
Stimulants, Club and Dissociative Drugs, Hallucinogens, Steroids, Inhalants and International Aspects; 2016
Preedy, Victor R. (editor)
Neuropathology of Drug Addictions and Substance Misuse, Vol 3 (Adelaide)
General Processes and Mechanisms, Prescription Medications, Caffeine and Areca, Polydrug Misuse, Emerging Addictions and Non-Drug Addictions 2016 Preedy, Victor R. (editor)
Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment (VCU)
American Psychiatric Publishing, 2015
ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine 2015 (VCU)
American Society of Addiction Medicine, 2014.
Textbook of Addiction Treatment: International Perspectives (VCU)
Springer, 2015.

e-Book Collections

Access Medicine (VCU)
Updated daily, content from more than 60 clinical and academic medical textbooks for students, clinicians, researchers, other health professionals
R2 Digital Library (VCU)
A comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks
APA PsycBOOKS (VCU)
Full-text database of scholarly books (classic works to present). Downloadable as PDFs

Selected e-books

The ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine
ISBN: 9781496324108
Publication Date: 2015
Newly updated comprehensive reference text on the science and treatment of addiction from The American Society of Addiction Medicine Principles of Addiction Medicine.
Clinical Textbook of Addictive Disorders, Fourth Edition by Avram H. Mack (Editor); Kathleen T. Brady (Editor); Sheldon I. Miller (Editor); Richard J. Frances (Editor)
ISBN: 9781462521739
Publication Date: 2016-03-16
This state-of-the-science reference and text provides a strong foundation in understanding and treating addictive disorders.
Advances in the Neuroscience of Addiction by Cynthia M. Kuhn (Editor); George F. Koob (Editor)
ISBN: 9780849373916
Publication Date: 2010-04-12
Overview of the available and emerging approaches used to investigate the biologic mechanisms of drug addiction.
Biological Research on Addiction by Peter M. Miller (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123983350
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Behavioral and molecular biology; neuroscience; genetics; and neuroimaging and neuropharmacology as they relate to the addictive process; animal studies

Cocaine and Amphetamine Addiction Genetics by Gerome Breen (35 minute talk) A video by Gerome Breen from the Henry Stewart Talks collection

Implementing Evidence-Based Practices in Community Corrections and Addiction Treatment by Faye S. Taxman; Steven Belenko
ISBN: 9781461404125
Publication Date: 2011-11-19
Featuring the first model of implementation strategies linking these fields, this book sets out criteria for identifying evidence-based practices and programs and proposes new strategies to advance the uptake of these practices in real world settings.
Addiction Recovery Management by John F. Kelly; William L. White
ISBN: 9781603279604
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Addiction Recovery Management: Theory, Research, and Practice is the first book on the recovery management approach to addiction treatment and post-treatment support services.
Animal Models of Drug Addiction by Mary C. Olmstead
ISBN: 9781607619345
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Our understanding of addiction and how it is treated has advanced remarkably over the past decades, and much of the progress is related directly to animal research. This is true for both the behavioural aspects of drug use as well as the biological underpinnings of the disorder. In Animal Models of Drug Addiction, experts in the field provide an up-to-date review of complex behavioural paradigms that model different stages of this disorder and explain how each test is used to effectively replicate the progression of drug addiction

Addiction Medicine by Bankole Johnson
ISBN: 0323754406
Publication Date: 2019-12-12
(UA) Practical Skills and Clinical Management of Alcoholism and Drug Addiction by Samuel Obembe
ISBN: 0123985188
Publication Date: 2012-08-06
A synoptic presentation of Causes and Treatment of Alcoholism and Drug Addiction. It gives an insight into Alcoholism and Drug Addiction genetic and/or acquired etiologies through researched studies.
(UA) Principles of Addiction by Peter M. Miller (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123983367
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Principles of Addiction provides a solid understanding of the definitional and diagnostic differences between use, abuse, and disorder. It describes in detail the characteristics of these syndromes and various etiological models. The book examines the nature of addiction, including epidemiology, symptoms, and alcohol and drug use among adolescents and college students.

How to Search Our Libraries for e-books

All 3 universities use a similar Library Search platform, but options for locating e-books are in slightly different positions (see videos). Our collections also differ, so doing the same search in each will let you see what else is available.

Search all 3 collections here