Research Guides: Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering: Mechanical Engineering Home

We Recommend

Engineering Village
A comprehensive source to discover research articles and conference presentations in all areas of engineering.
Web of Science
Scholarly literature covering all scientific disciplines. Shows connections between sources that cite each other.
Knovel Library
Collection of engineering ebooks with full-text searching, interactive tables and access to materials properties and other data.

Articles and more

ASTM Compass
ASTM standards, journals, conference proceedings, manuals, and more. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines including biomedical, chemical, environmental, health and safety, materials science, mechanical, and nuclear, among others.
Engineering Village
A comprehensive source to discover research articles and conference presentations in all areas of engineering.
IEEE Xplore
Full-text database of IEEE and IET publications, including publications from predecessors such as IEE, IRE, and AIAA. Includes abstracts and full text for journals, magazines, transactions, published standards, and proceedings.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection
Provides indexing, abstracts, and select full text for international literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases.
Web of Science
Scholarly literature covering all scientific disciplines. Shows connections between sources that cite each other.

Complete list of mechanical and nuclear engineering databases at VCU Libraries.

Background Information

Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
Nearly 1800 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices, 2000 illustrations, and 900 tables clarifying important mathematical and engineering principles.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook
The Kutz Mechanical Engineer's Handbook: 4th Edition offers engineers a thorough, detailed, ready reference on topics that may fall outside their scope of expertise.

Knovel Library
Collection of engineering ebooks with full-text searching, interactive tables and access to materials properties and other data.
Taylor & Francis eBooks (formerly CRCnetBase)
Search or browse Taylor & Francis eBooks. Select 'Show content I have access to' when the results display. Browse by subjects to display results similar to the ...netBASE contents, e.g., Bioscience, Engineering, Environment. Can be used for course content: Science, Technology, Engineering and Medicine ebooks.
AccessEngineering
Full-text engineering handbooks and up-to-date reference materials from McGraw-Hill, supporting all levels of scientific and technical research in academic, corporate, industrial, and government sectors.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Includes books on computers, programming, science, engineering, technology and mathematics as well as videos and interactive learning programs

Journals

Journal of Mechanical Design - Transactions of the ASME
Communicates original contributions of permanent interest on all aspects of the design of mechanical systems.
International Journal of Mechanical Sciences
Original contributions in structural mechanics, mechanics and applications of advanced materials, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics and materials processing analysis.
Acta Mechanica
International journal in the field of theoretical and applied mechanics.
Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering
Covers computational methods for the simulation of complex physical problems leading to the analysis and design of engineering products and systems.
Computational Mechanics
Original research on computational mechanics investigating theoretical and computational methods and their rational applications.

Browse journals in mechanical engineering.

Standards

VCU Libraries provides some standards online directly from ASTM and IEEE. For standards that VCU Libraries does not provide access to directly, VCU students, faculty and staff can contact Ibironke Lawal, Science and Engineering Collections Librarian, ilawal@vcu.edu; (804) 828-8739, to get the standard for you. Please include the name and number of the standard you are requesting.

Standards Available Immediately

ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass includes standards and technical engineering information. The standards primarily are for materials and materials testing.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore includes research articles, conference papers, and standards in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. To limit the search to standards, uses the Advanced Search and limit the content type to standards.

ANSI Incorporated by Reference Portal
Read-only access, usually free, to standards incorporated by U.S. government rulemaking. Sometimes the standards are visible directly on the ANSI site, and sometimes you will be redirected to an external site to view the standards.

Other Standards

The tools below can be used to locate the names and numbers of standards. They can be used to help you identify the appropriate standards, and will display the price to purchase them.

Once you have verified you have located the appropriate standards for your need, direct your request for the standard to Ibironke Lawal, Science and Engineering Collections Librarian, ilawal@vcu.edu; (804) 828-8739. Please include the name and number of the standard you are requesting.

ANSI Standards
American Standards Institute - US and International Standards
IHS Markit
A catalog for standards and technical information
TechStreet
A catalog for standards and technical information

Writing and Citing

ASME References
Instructions for formatting references in ASME style
Cite My Sources and Avoid Plagiarism
Guide to help you learn when and how to cite your sources.
Citation Tools
Information about tools for storing references and having a computer generate citations automatically.
Write a Literature Review
Tutorials and tips for writing a literature review.

Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

Research Librarian

Ask Us

Collections