Nursology: Nurse Theorist FITNE Videoshe Nurse Theorist Video Series provides interviews by Jacqueline Fawcett and Martha Raile Alligood of many of nursing’s foundational theorists, preserving their voices and ideas. The Nurse Theorist Video Series: Portraits of Excellence comprises three volumes. In addition, there are three videos in the Nurse Theorists: Excellence in Action series.
Caring for the Vulnerable by Mary de Chesnay; Barbara A. AndersonCaring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus.The Fifth Edition will be a major overhaul, as each new edition of this text has been. There will be a total of 31 new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health.New to the Fifth Edition:Thirty-one new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations, exploring topics such as: Intersection of Racial Disparities and Privilege in Women's HealthHIV Prevention EducationCaring for the Transgender CommunityCaring for Vulnerable Populations: Outcomes with the DNP-Prepared NurseWith some chapters delving into key clinical topics in identified regions, such as:Opioid Abuse and Diversion Prevention in Rural Eastern Kentucky The Effects of Gun Trauma on Rural Montana Healthcare ProvidersHealth Care in MexicoFifth edition will continue to focus more on DNP authors and assess each chapter for relevance to DNP-prepared nursesFeatures an included test bank, practice activities, PPTs, IM, and a sample syllabus
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by Mary Jane Smith (Editor); Patricia R. Liehr (Editor); Roger D. Carpenter (Editor)Three-time recipient of the AJN Book of the Year Award! The completely revised fifth edition of this authoritative text encompasses the most current middle range theories for graduate nursing students and researchers. User-friendly and consistently organized, it helps readers to understand the connection of research to larger conceptual models in nursing. The fifth edition presents three new theories, a revised chapter on concept-building, two published examples demonstrating the concept-building process, and a new section on the application of middle range theory that addresses its use for practice, and education. Additional new features include the fresh perspectives of a third editor, a two-color design to enhance readability, and discussion questions concluding each chapter. The text describes sixteen middle range theories and elaborates on disciplinary perspectives, providing an organizing framework and evaluating the theory. Each theory is consistently organized by purpose, historical development, primary concepts, the relationships among concepts, and its use in nursing practice and research. Understanding of concepts is enhanced by the book's use of the ladder of abstraction for each theory to explain its relationship to philosophical, conceptual, and empirical theory dimensions. New to the Fifth Edition: Includes three new theories-Inner Strength, Unitary Caring, and Nature Immersion-for a total of 16 theories A completely new section on application of theory to practice New chapter on application of middle range theory to education Extensively revised chapter on building concepts for research Two-color design to enhance readability Discussion questions at the end of each chapter to promote class dialogue Nine practice examples relating to application of middle range theory The expertise of a new editor Key Features: Delivers theories in consistent format to facilitate comparisons Presents published exemplars demonstrating concept building User-friendly and consistently organized Summarizes middle range theories developed between 1988 and 2020
Publication Date: 2023-02-28
Nursing knowledge and theory innovation : advancing the science of practice by Pamela G. Reed and Nelma B. Crawford Shearerhe spiral path of nursing knowledge / Pamela G. Reed -- A philosophy of nursing science and practice : intermodernism / Pamela G. Reed -- Doctoral nursing roles in knowledge generation / Donna M. Velasquez, Donna Behler McArthur, and Catherine Johnson -- Practitioner-centered research : nursing praxis and the science of the unique / Gary Rolfe -- Interlude I : the mandala and discovering nursing worldviews / Nelma B. Crawford Shearer -- The DNP project : translating research into knowledge for practice / Jennifer Ruel, Donna Behler McArthur, and Pamela G. Reed -- Interlude II : mindfulness and knowledge development in nursing practice / Catherine Johnson -- Creating a nursing intervention out of a passion for theory and practice / Nelma B. Crawford Shearer -- Interlude III : practitioner as theorist : a nurse's toolkit for theoretical thinking in nursing / Pamela G. Reed -- Clinical scholarship : history and future possibilities / Rene Love -- Generating knowledge in practice : philosophical and methodological considerations / Pamela G. Reed and Barbara B. Brewer -- Interlude IV : community-based nursing praxis as a catalyst for generating knowledge / Cathleen Michaels -- Paradigm for the production of practice-based knowledge : philosophical and practical considerations / Pamela G. Reed -- Interlude V : steps in reformulating a nursing practice concept : empowerment as an example / Nelma B. Crawford Shearer and Pamela G. Reed -- The practice turn in nursing epistemology for theory innovation and knowledge production / Pamela G. Reed.
Call Number: Online / E-book
Publication Date: 2018
Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by Kathleen MastersNursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice, Second Edition covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing. The Second Edition features additional practice level or middle range theories with supporting diagrams that illustrate the use the nursing process in the context of the specific theory. Each chapter will also feature call out boxes describing the literature of the theory's use in nursing practice. Updates to the Second Edition: New chapter on Transitions Theory New coverage on Postpartum Depression New information on Uncertainty in Illness Theory Illustrations in each theory chapter demonstrate how theory relates to the nursing process Current examples found in each chapter tied to updated research
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by Marlaine Smith; Marilyn E. ParkerThe only nursing research and theory book with primary works by the original theorists! Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. The 5th Edition, continues to meet the needs of today's students with an expanded focus on the middle range theories and practice models that link theory to clinical practice. You'll explore the role of these theories in the real-world to see how they guide nursing practice.
Call Number: Internet Resources RT84.5 .N8793 2010eb
Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Situation Specific Theories: Development, Utilization, and Evaluation in Nursing by Eun-Ok Im (Editor); Afaf I. Meleis (Editor)This book fills the gap in the literature on nursing theories by presenting the background information on situation specific theories such as philosophical bases and current status of situation specific theories and providing a collection of situation specific theories that have been developed. It provides specific guidelines for nursing research and practice, essentials for PhD and DNP students to complete the requirements for their degrees (e.g., dissertation, QI project). In addition, this book can be used in theory courses in other graduate nursing programs that require theoretical bases for their comprehensive exam or scholarly project (e.g., MSN, NP). Throughout nursing history, nursing theories have evolved within the contexts of changing and emerging theoretical needs of nursing discipline. Subsequently, several different types of nursing theories have been proposed, developed, and used in nursing education, research, and practice. Situation specific theories could be easily adopted and used in nursing practice and research due to their foci on specific populations or particular fields. Since situation specific theories were firstly proposed in 1990s, they became a major part of nursing theories in the past two decades, making this book appeals to all levels of nursing students.
Publication Date: 2021-02-06
Conceptual Models of Nursing by Joyce Fitzpatrick; Ann WhallConceptual Models of Nursing will be particularly appealing to students, faculty, and nurse administrators who are interested in expanding their worldview about the current state of nursing theory from a global perspective. A global perspective of nursing theory helps nurses think conceptually and holistically Designed to help readers understand the development and evaluation of the theoretical base for nursing practice research and education, Conceptual Models of Nursing familiarizes students with a broad range of nursing models and their roles in global nursing practice. With an emphasis on the application of nursing theories for the advanced practice student, strong attention is given to the relevance of nursing theory to nursing classification systems that are used in advanced practice. In the Fifth Edition, nurse scholars from several countries provide a perspective of how nursing is conceptualized in other countries and give voice to a community of scholars that extends beyond the borders of the United States. Models presented in the text represent a movement to think about nursing conceptually, away from a narrow point of view to a holistic one.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library, General Collection ; RT84.5 .C664 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-10
Human Caring Science a Theory of Nursing by Jean WatsonHuman Caring Science: A Theory of Nursing, Second Edition by renowned nurse theorist Jean Watson discusses the balance between science and caring that forms the basis of the nursing profession. Watson's Theory of Human Care draws from Western and Eastern philosophers, approaching the human care relationship as a moral concept. Further, it seeks to elucidate the human care process in nursing, preserve humanity and the inner life of patients, and reintroduce true caring and healing into educational and clinical practices.Thoroughly revised and updated, each chapter provides fresh insights and contemporary thinking making it accessible to undergraduates as well as graduates and practicing nurses. This Second Edition also includes a new research chapter with the latest empirical work on assessing and measuring caring, examples of practice models, and multi-site research.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library, RT84.5 .W367 2012
Call Number: Health Sciences Library RT84.5 .N89 2011 Normal Loan
Publication Date: 2011
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by Martha Raile AlligoodA classic text is back with fresh, comprehensive nursing theories, critiques, and philosophies. Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 9th Edition provides you with an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. This new edition has been updated with an improved writing style, added case studies, critical thinking activities, and in-depth objective critiques of nursing theories that help bridge the gap between theory and application. In addition, the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) are graphically depicted throughout the book to help you understand the context of the various theories. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm their comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter directs you to assets available for additional information. Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information for further study. NEW! Improved writing style and increased use of subheadings make the narrative more concise, direct, and accessible. NEW! Updated research and findings incorporate new content along with more examples and clinical correlations. NEW! History of Nursing Science chapter emphasizes nursing science updates UNIQUE! Graphical depiction of the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) helps you to understand the context of the various theories.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RT84.5 .N9 2018
Publication Date: 2017-08-15
Strategies for Theory Construction in Nursing by Lorraine O. Walker; Kay C. AvantFor courses in nursing theory. The clearest, most useful introduction to theory development methods Strategies for Theory Construction in Nursing provides a straightforward, logically organized resource on theory development, from a nursing perspective. It places theory development in the context of both a rich history tracing back to the mid-¿20th century and of contemporary and emerging issues. Present¿-day coverage includes population- and domain-specific theories addressing the needs of diverse clients. Reflecting vast changes in nursing practice, the 6th edition covers advances both in theory development and in strategies for concept, statement, and theory development. It also builds further connections between nursing theory and evidence-based practice.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RT84.5 .W34 2019
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
Theoretical Nursing by Afaf Ibraham MeleisInspire your students to be theoretical thinkers, innovative advocates, and agents for change. Focused on cultivating the next generation of scholars, this highly respected classic demystifies theory, charts strategies to use in developing and advancing theory, and provides tools and best practices in evaluating progress in the discipline. Based on the feedback of nursing students, this edition was updated to be more accessible without losing the necessary rigor to foster critical thinking. Meleis provides a developmental and historical review of theoretical nursing and helps readers develop analytic skills and integrate knowledge into a coherent whole. By embarking on the journey of nursing theory, practicing nurses will find ways to improve everyday practice, as well as develop theories that capture their expertise. Highlights of the Sixth Edition Key Topics Paradigms that influenced nursing thought, such as feminism and post-colonialism Nursing Theories, including need , interaction , and outcome theories Social and health care transitions and their influence on advancing nursing knowledge The most updated global definitions of the discipline of nursing and the future of nursing Critical discussions on how different classifications of theories may lead to productive explorations and explanations of the process of clinical judgment and decision making Key Features New online journal articles and case studies give students an opportunity to apply theory to practice. Chapter-ending Reflective Questions expand students' understanding of theory and its impact on nursing today. Separate chapters covering Middle Range Theory and Situation-Specific Theory . This text is complemented by and frequently used with Peterson & Bredow's Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice . A new two-column design that enhances readability. Doody's Review Services gives this title a Weighted Numerical Score: 89 - 3 Stars! "This is the most exemplary nursing theory title available and it is particularly useful because it is a treasure trove of classic and emerging theorists and their work. The breadth, comprehensiveness, and historical grounding make this a must-have title that is a relevant reference for emerging nursing theorists and researchers, faculty, graduate students, and policy makers." - Doody's Review Service
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RT84.5 .M45 2018