by Erica Brody
Last Updated Feb 19, 2024
66 views this year
EthnoMedEthnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups.
Diversicare: Cultural ProfilesRange of profiles to provide an overview of various cultures which support service providers in delivering cultural sensitive care.
Center for Applied Linguistics: Culture ProfilesCulture profiles provide short introductions to the history and the cultural background of refugee populations and are a valuable resource for service providers, employers, educators, and others interested in learning more about other cultures.
Culturally Competent Nursing Care: A Cornerstone of CaringCulturally Competent Nursing Care: A Cornerstone of Caring is a free e-learning program from the HHS Office of Minority Health. It is accredited for up to 9 continuing education credits, at no cost, for nurses.
This e-learning program is designed to help you deliver culturally and linguistically competent care. Cultural and linguistic competency is the capacity for individuals and organizations to work and communicate effectively in cross-cultural situations. Cultural and linguistic competency can help improve the quality of the care you deliver to patients from diverse cultural backgrounds.
This e-learning program is grounded in the National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care. These Standards are intended to advance health equity, improve quality, and help eliminate health disparities. The National CLAS Standards provide you and other health professionals with a blueprint for increasing cultural and linguistic competency.
Cultural Competence in Health by Crystal Jongen; Janya McCalman; Roxanne Bainbridge; Anton CliffordThis resource supports evidence-informed approaches to improving the cultural competence of health service delivery. By reviewing the evidence from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the US, it provides readers with a clear and systematic overview of the interventions and indicators applied to enable health system agencies and professionals to work effectively in various cross-cultural health care situations. The book highlights the importance of cultural competence and describes the current situation in the studied countries; identifies effective approaches and strategies for improving the situation; reviews the indicators for measuring progress; assesses the health outcomes associated with cultural competence; summarizes the quality of the evidence; and presents an evidence-informed conceptual framework for cultural competence in health. Cultural competence is critical to reducing health disparities and has become a popular concept in these countries for improving access to high-quality, respectful and responsive health care. This book provides policy makers, health practitioners, researchers and students with a much needed summary of what works to improve health systems, services and practice.
Call Number: Online / E-book
Cultural Competencies for Nurses by Linda Dayer-BerensonBy compiling the history and theory behind cultural competency in nursing and healthcare, this text provides essential information concerning health beliefs and the influence of culture on health and illness. This new edition includes an overview of predominant cultural competency nursing theories, the impact of diversity on health disparities, information on the health beliefs of various minority groups, and case studies to enhance student learning. The text serves as an excellent resource for courses that emphasize health promotion and disease prevention.
Call Number: Online / E book
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by Rachel E. SpectorFor courses in Community/Public Health Nursing, Transcultural Nursing, and CEUs. Promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds The ninth edition of Cultural Diversity in Health and Wellness examines the differences existing within North America by probing the health care system, consumers, and examples of traditional health beliefs and practices among selected populations. An essential for any health-care professional, this book sets the standard for cultural perspectives and more importantly HEALTH--the balance of the person, both within one's being--physical, mental, and spiritual--and in the outside world--natural, communal, and metaphysical. (Terms such as HEALTH are written this way to emphasize holistic meaning.) An emphasis on the influences of recent social, political, and demographic changes helps to explore the issues and perceptions of health and illness today, while introductory and capstone chapters help place material within perspective.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RA418.5.T73 S64 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-12
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by Gloria Kersey-MatusiakNewly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Call Number: Online / E-book
The Future of Nursing 2020-2030: Global Applications to Advance Health Equity by Susan Hassmiller (Editor); Ashley Darcy Mahoney (Editor); Kenya Beard (Editor)This book provides an application of the concepts and recommendations of The Future of Nursing 2020-2030: Charting a Path to Achieve Health Equity Report, a Consensus Study from the US National Academy of Medicine. It offers complementary guidance through tools, tips, examples and storytelling. As such this book, written by prominent international academics and nurse practitioners, offers program and policy recommendations for health equity. As the world's largest and most trusted workforce, nurses are in a key position thus must step up to help address these inequities now. The recent pandemic has laid bare these inequities in ways that are stark and demanding of our attention. This book offers program and policy recommendations, along with case studies, designed to empower nurses to understand and ACT to improve health equity. This text provides nurses an opportunity to clearly see the need for an equitable, just, and fair society. There has never been a more urgent call to action.
Publication Date: 2023-08-17
Health Equity and Nursing by Margaret P. Moss (Editor); Janice Phillips (Editor)Authored by highly respected nurse educators, leaders, and scholars, this text focuses on the power of nurses and how they can make substantial contributions to improve the health of all populations. It delivers an in-depth examination and analysis of current issues and determinants of health as outlined by Healthy People 2020 and addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice. Along with principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity, thetext discusses the evolution of thinking from eliminating health disparities to achieving health equity, and examines population-based and population-specific inequities in health status and outcomes. Highlighting the importance of interprofessional collaboration, it surveys timely initiatives, programs, and professionals--within and outside of the health sciences--who are important partners in efforts toward achieving health equity. Chapters are highly templated to include objectives, key concepts, critical-thinking questions, discussion questions, and resources.Key Features: Focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populationsExamines principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equityDiscusses economic, environmental, personal, social, and structural factors that impact health status and outcomesHighlights the importance of interprofessional collaboration in achieving health equityAddresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing PracticeDemonstrates key concepts and stimulates reflection through critical-thinking and discussion questionsPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Publication Date: 2019-12-15
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice, Fourth Edition by Marilyn R. McFarland; Hiba B. Wehbe-AlamahThe Most Comprehensive Presentation of Transcultural Nursing Concepts Featuring the Newly Revised Sunrise Enabler! Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research & Practices, Fourth Edition offers theoretical and practical guidance on the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. Transcultural nursing is a vital, holistic approach that allows nurses and other healthcare providers to provide culturally congruent care for individuals, families, groups, and organizations within a context that is meaningful, beneficial, and inclusive of their healthcare values, beliefs, practices, traditions, communication styles, diverse roles,dietary preferences, and more. The text presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the future direction of transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture care of homeless mothers and children. The book chapters cover such topics as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan as well as translational research, globalization,conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles. Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research, and Practices was edited by two experts in the field and uses Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality and the Ethnonursing Research Method to provide a useful blend of theory and practical clinical information.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library, General Collection ; RT86.54 .M34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care, Third Edition by Marianne R. JeffreysBased on proven research, this book is a unique book for those working in academic settings, health care institutions, employee education, and nursing and health care organizations and associations. Updated with new evidence-based strategies, interactive book features, and expanded ready-toapply strategies and exemplars, this new edition offers a systematic, comprehensive approach for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence education strategies and programs. New and expanded chapters address curriculum, train-the-trainer programs, and continuing education; traditional classroom, hybrid, and online courses;clinical settings, immersion experiences, service learning, simulation, and nursing skills labs; professional networking; and multicultural workplace harmony and cultural safety. Included are educational activities for academic, health care agency, and professional association settings. Real-life scenarios, integrated reflection boxes, easy-to-apply action steps, educator- in-action vignettes, research exhibit boxes, toolkit resource boxes, an accompanying digital toolkit, references, and discussion questions help readers to fully integrate the book's content. An appendix lists over 50 studies from around the world utilizing the Cultural Competence and Confidence (CCC) model and its corresponding questionnaires (contained in the toolkit). The text provides valuable information and resources to assist academic programs and health care institutions meet accreditation requirements and for institutions trying to obtain Magnet status. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Updated and revised model to guide cultural competence education Reorganized to address cultural competence in a variety of environments Expanded ready-to-apply strategies and exemplars A wealth of updated and revised information and research New and expanded chapters on curriculum and varied learning modalities New information on clinical settings, immersion experiences, service learning, simulation, nursing skills labs, and hybrid and online education Real-life scenarios, reflection boxes, easy-to-apply action steps, toolkit resource boxes, and discussion questions ALSO AVAILABLE: Doctoral students, instructors, institutions, and others who want to take it a step further can purchase the Cultural Competence Education Resource Toolkit permission license. Purchase of a toolkit license allows the user to utilize any of the 23 toolkit items in a research study and/or an educational programfor the specified time period. The toolkit includes psychometrically validated questionnaires and other tools essential for the measurement and evaluationof cultural competence and the effectiveness of educational strategies.
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach by Larry Purnell (Editor); Eric Fenkl (Editor)This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures. Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care by Margaret Andrews; Joyceen S. Boyle; John CollinsSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Ensure Culturally Competent, Contextually Meaningful Care for Every Patient Rooted in cultural assessment and trusted for its proven approach, Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care is your key to ensuring safe, ethical and effective care to diverse cultures and populations. This comprehensive text helps you master transcultural theories, models and research studies while honing the communication and collaboration skills essential to success in today's changing clinical nursing environment. Updated content familiarizes you with changes in the healthcare delivery system, new research studies and theoretical advances. Evidence-Based Practice boxes ground concepts in the latest research studies and highlight clinical implications for effective practice. Case Studies , based on the authors' actual clinical experiences and research findings, help you translate concepts to clinical applications across diverse healthcare settings. Review questions and learning activities in each chapter inspire critical thinking and allow you to apply your knowledge. Chapter objectives and key terms keep you focused on each chapter's most important concepts.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection ; RT86.54 .A53 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-09
Transcultural Nursing by Joyce Newman GigerGet up to speed on how to properly assess the care needs of today's culturally diverse clientele with Transcultural Nursing: Assessment & Intervention, 7th Edition. Centering on Giger's unique transcultural model of clear, easy-to-apply assessment and intervention strategies for the clinical setting, this one-of-a-kind resource will help you learn to identify the six key cultural phenomena used in caring for clients from different backgrounds (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biological variations), and show you how to apply these phenomena to a variety of individuals in different cultures. UNIQUE! Giger & Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model devotes a full chapter to each of the six aspects of cultural assessment (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biologic variations) to help readers apply this model to any client of any culture - even those not covered in the text. 2010 census data is incorporated through the book to provide the most current analysis of demographic trends. UNIQUE! Sample care plans demonstrate how to apply principles to specific client needs. UNIQUE! Discussion of the spiritual component provides a more holistic, integrated approach to culture and assessment. Case studies and critical thinking questions help readers apply the assessment framework in practice. Clarification of biologic variations for select cultural groups raises readers' awareness of potential risks/influences on client health. NEW! Completely revised cultural chapters reflect the shifting experiences of various cultural groups in our society.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RT86.54 .T73 2017
Transcultural Nursing by Joyce Newman Giger; Linda Haddad722 pages 722 pages NEW co-author Dr. Linda Haddad is an internationally recognized cultural scholar who has taught nursing around the globe, has acted as an advisor and coordinator for the World Health Organization, and has published over 30 scholarly articles on nursing with a focus on understanding the cultural implication to care. UPDATED! Cultural chapters are completely revised to reflect the shifting experiences of cultural groups in our society.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library, General Collection ; RT86.54 .T73 2021
Publication Date: 2020-04-23
Transcultural Nursing Education Strategies by Priscilla Limbo SagarThis comprehensive guide to integrating transcultural nursing education (TCN) strategies in academic and in-service institutions is the only text to fulfill the NLN and AACN mandates for promoting cultural diversity and competencies in these settings. Incorporating evidence-based, best-practice protocols, it provides course syllabi and a wealth of additional teaching aids for all education arenas from foundation classes through in-service domains.
Call Number: Online / E-book
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models by Priscilla SagarTranscultural Nursing Theory and Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration is a must read for the nurse currently practicing. National and global changes in demographics, a changing global economy, have further dramatized the need for culturally competent nurses. I found this book to be what I had hoped for and more related to my understanding of the concept of transcultural nursing (TCN)....I would highly recommend this book to any nurse who is looking to deepen her understanding of the many diverse cultures she encounters at the bedside, or out in the community using components of the theory, models and assessment guide presented in this book."--Advance for Nurses This book makes a worthwhile contribution to the field of transcultural nursing by complementing texts that introduce theory and models or delve into them individually and more deeply. Sagar contributes her expertise as a Transcultural Nursing Scholar by focusing on how to use the models and guide. She explains and shows the reader how transcultural nursing theory can be disseminated and implemented."--Online Journal of Cultural Competence in Nursing and Healthcare This volume is the first to examine and promote the application of current, major transcultural nursing (TCN) theory and models and assessment tools in nursing education, practice, and administration. As a comprehensive text for master's and bachelor's level nursing students, it features case studies, care plans, initial role playing exercises, and implications of TCN concepts when planning, implementing and evaluating client care.TCN Theory, Models, and Assessment Guide Discussed: Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality Purnell's Model for Cultural Competence Campinha-Bacote's Biblically Based Model of Cultural Competence Giger and Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model Spector's Health Traditions Model Andrews and Boyle's Transcultural Nursing Assessment Guide for Individuals and Families Key Features: Reviews one theory and four major TCN models plus one TCN assessment guide Provides assessment tools, case studies, and role playing exercises Discusses implications of TCN concepts for planning, implementing and evaluating client care Reviews TCN in an international context Offers NCLEX-type test questions and answers in each section Fulfills AACN content guidelines for cultural competency