Library Stack is an online archive of digital arts publications from the fields of contemporary art, graphic design, architecture, film and philosophy. Library Stack draws from diverse global platforms, and has a particular focus on hybrid works.
Millions of historical and contemporary news photographs with thousands more added daily. Includes a collection of graphics containing logos, maps, and timelines, as well as audio clips and news stories.
Contemporary photographers and their work in a wide variety of techniques and styles embraced by the medium. Organized chronologically by year of birth, each photographer is introduced in double-page spreads that feature reproductions of their work and a perceptive and concise appreciation of their life and career.
A comprehensive reference traces the history of photography from the invention of the daguerreotype in 1829 to the breakthroughs in digital photography today, covering such key themes as portraits, still lifes, photojournalism, and NASA images while exploring the ways that the use of pictures has influenced public perspectives.
Three volume Encyclopedia presents the important developments, movements, photographers, photographic institutions, and theoretical aspects of the field along with information about equipment, techniques, and practical applications of photography.
The technical origins and evolution of photography are half of the story. The other half consists of the ways that cultural forces have transformed photography into a constellation of practices more diverse than any other mode of representation. (Also in Print: Cabell Library Reference (1st Floor), TR9 .C65 2008)
The relatively new medium of photography has generated, from its inception, intense debate over its merits as an art form. In Reading Photography, Sri-Kartini Leet brings together over 100 extracts from writings on different themes in the medium to explore the history of the art of photography.
Consolidated catalog of items held by OCLC member libraries worldwide. WorldCat FirstSearch is the subscription version of the WorldCat database, with advanced search options and result listing by number of copies available.
Institution dedicated to photography and visual culture. Browse their permanent collection that contains more than 200,000 prints and related materials that range from the earliest forms of photography to contemporary work.
Light Work is an artist-run non-profit organization that provides direct support to artists working in photography and related media, through residencies, publications, and a community-access lab facility.
A global community of visual storytellers — documentary photographers, journalists, artists, and more — all committed to using imagery to combat harmful misperceptions and to rise above persistent inequality.
Reading the Pictures is a web-based, non-profit educational and publishing organization dedicated to visual culture, visual literacy and media literacy through the analysis of news, documentary and social media images.